We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glidden House”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glidden House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent location on University Circle. University Circle contains most of the museums and symphony hall. Glidden House is a 15 minute walk to Little Italy. Great little bar that is open from about 2pm - 12am. Ed, the bartender, is terrific. This is a grand old mansion from the early 1900's that was owned by the Glidden Paint family. Off street & valet parking is great. Check in and out was smooth. Breakfast is average at best. Steam table poached eggs and bacon, pastries, juice, coffee etc. There's no full service breakfast diner nearby. Our ground floor room was not noisy. We would definitely stay here again but would try for a suite instead of a queen room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear PeterV,
We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit during your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast buffet. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience.
We look forward to your next visit!
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    174
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
138
258
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The glidden house is no more expensive than a chain hotel and well worth it. The location to botanical gardens, museums and little Italy is fantastic. Excellent breakfast - staff is very helpful and respectful of privacy. The history and the ambiance is charming. Walk anywhere from here - loved it we I'll visit again .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pecpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Pecpmc,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Glidden House. We look forward to your next visit!
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I was in Cleveland to see one of my favorite bands play. This was my first time in Cleveland and knew little about the hotel. Very happy that I chose to stay at Glidden House. Convenient location and excellent service. The breakfast buffet, that is included in the cost of the room was very nice and the atmosphere was charming. Won't think of staying anywhere else next time I find myself in Cleveland.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoneBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear RoneBurbank,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Glidden House! We hope that you choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Cleveland.

Best,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I, including our youngest daughter and her husband and their two children needed a comfortable place to stay that had good and safe surroundings, and gave us a feeling of "home". We chose the Glidden House and have not regretted it. The boutique hotel was steep in history (circa 1910) and yet had a new look feel to it, and the rooms were quite comfortable. There were only 60 rooms (52 regular rooms and 8 suites) and so you never really had that high density feeling compared to the big hotels.

Our grandchildren loved the surroundings, taking daily walks to the pond across the Museum of Art. Public art, museums, and a lovely university community surrounded the hotel. Even without a car, everything was a good leisurely walk --- museums, restaurants, bars .... What a beautiful place to spend more than 2 whole weeks in Cleveland!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wowo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I went to school right by this hotel and only just now stayed in it for the first time. It was lovely. The rooms and beds are slightly small for American standards, but very lovely and clean. The breakfast buffet is fantastic. Service was excellent as well. It was so nice to be able to park there and then walk to everything in University Circle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineCello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I won't repeat the previous accolades. This is a charming Inn. The location was great for us. Parking is complimentary making it ideal for us since we like to remain parked and walk.

Lakeview Cemetery is a 15 minute walk. The Botanical Garden is across the street. The Museum is a 5-7 minute walk. Restaurants are also within an easy walk.

After check out you can leave your car and extend your stay.

GH is a great find.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DPD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way thru Ohio. The hotel is lovely and is in a prime location. The staff is pleasant. The only real problem with this hotel is the lack of insulation in the walls. We could literally hear everything the man in the next room was saying. He had a lovely conversation with his wife over the telephone(which we could even hear what she was saying on the phone). When he hung up I wanted to wish her a goodnight as well. I'm really saddened to write this because overall the hotel was really nice but they have to fix this problem. I can't imagine if we had a neighbor that was a "night owl" we wouldn't have
slept a wink.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank organic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing