We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel, Superb Location”
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A very nice, boutique style hotel in the heart of University Circle; that location really makes it outstanding. In walking distance to Museum of Art, Botanical Gardens, Severance Hall and amid the campus of Case Western Reserve University. They offer a complimentary breakfast featuring excellent pastries and danish, home made by a neighboring coffee house ( not the usual frozen stuff found on many hotel breakfasts ). The hotel itself is a restored mansion, very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 681 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

At first glance, this hotel looked awesome. Who wouldn't want to stay in an old mansion with updates? My stay was nice, but it was nothing spectacular. If you like the feel and sounds of an old house, you'll get them here. I could hear the conversations of the people in the room next to us. My husband and I had booked a suite; on the hotel website the options are regular hotel room or suite. We splurged and picked the suite. The pictures on the site showed a spacious sitting room as well as a fireplace. Our suite had neither of these things. I think there were nicer suites in the hotel but they all came at the same price-tag which doesn't seem fair to me. If I pay the suite price, I want the fireplace pictured on the website!

Pros:
-Very cute building.
-Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
-The little bar was cute.
-The breakfast area was gorgeous.
-I enjoyed the location.
-Breakfast was better than your average hotel continental.

Cons:
-Our suite.
-The noise.
-There was not enough parking around the building even though we were told there was.
-The morning coffee was terrible.
-The show was very awkward to maneuver.

Overall, it was an ok stay. Not bad enough to complain, but not nice enough to want to rush back.

Room Tip: If you book a suite, ask NOT to be placed in 223. It's not as nice/large as the website pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharkalark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Glidden House is an excellent boutique hotel located in a very pretty and safe part of Cleveland. We paid $159 per night and that included a hot and cold breakfast. The room was large and comfortable. The king bed was terrific. Bathroom amenities were excellent quality. And iron in the room was a plus.

Three other comments:. First, the hallway can be noisy with people talking enroute to their rooms. The sound really travels. Second, the inroom coffee needs a serious upgrade. Third, door hinges squeak and need some lubrication. All in all, minor quibbles about an otherwise excellent hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Glidden House is a warm, cozy and comfortable change from the usual chain hotels. It screams history, family and opulence! Tucked into the campus of Case Western University and amidst the curling streets sits a gorgeous old house that has been refurbished to near original, but with a new trendy elegance. I was traveling with a co-worker and found this house to be just what we needed after a long, full-day conference. We both slept soundly. The morning breakfast buffet started our long day with everything we longed for and more. James was nice enough to share some of the house's history and some helpful tips on what to "check out" while in Cleveland. We had a wonderful 3 day weekend and were able to tour the city easily. Loved the
CMOA and the Glow botanical gardens (across the street). Close enough to all the "hot spots" yet remote enough to be tranquil. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: The third floor was quiet, not many noises thru the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location is great - within walking distance to the museums and Case. But the rooms are just ok, and the building is just ok too - not really a robber baron mansion like the pictures might lead you to think, but a fairly nice old house that has a regular old boxy addition with low ceilings. Breakfast buffet is mediocre at best - spoiled orange juice, plus lots of meat and pastries that aren't worth the calories, and weird eggs cooked in cups with cheese. This isn't a bad place - it just doesn't live up to the hype or the price tag.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Glidden House provides a comfortable stay in a well decorated historical building. What makes it even better however is that it is on the beautiful campus of Case Western University and within easy walking distance of numerous museums, quaint bars and the beautiful Severance Hall; home of the Cleveland Orchestra. A great base location for a weekend of exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donikE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I want to express my wholehearted thanks to Glidden House for all of their time and effort to make our wedding something wonderful. Everyone went above and beyond in order to create a pure fairytale that we will always remember.

All of us truly appreciate everything they did. The team was amazing and we were lucky to have their expertise and dedication. It would not have been nearly as perfect without Leary and the entire Glidden House staff.

Additionally, all of our guests, both local and out-of-towners LOVED the venue. They will not stop gushing about Glidden House. They thought it was a great place to stay as well as host a big event.

Thank you again, Glidden House. You are the BEST!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#4 of 38 in Cleveland
921 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $176 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing