We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel and Even Greater Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Even Greater Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Glidden House provides a comfortable stay in a well decorated historical building. What makes it even better however is that it is on the beautiful campus of Case Western University and within easy walking distance of numerous museums, quaint bars and the beautiful Severance Hall; home of the Cleveland Orchestra. A great base location for a weekend of exploring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donikE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    153
    38
    18
    14
See reviews for
116
224
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I want to express my wholehearted thanks to Glidden House for all of their time and effort to make our wedding something wonderful. Everyone went above and beyond in order to create a pure fairytale that we will always remember.

All of us truly appreciate everything they did. The team was amazing and we were lucky to have their expertise and dedication. It would not have been nearly as perfect without Leary and the entire Glidden House staff.

Additionally, all of our guests, both local and out-of-towners LOVED the venue. They will not stop gushing about Glidden House. They thought it was a great place to stay as well as host a big event.

Thank you again, Glidden House. You are the BEST!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding, very nice, quiet and in an excellent neighborhood. There are many great sites to look at only steps from the front door of the hotel. The breakfast was a great addition to have in this updated Inn. We will be going back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DFederspiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I came here because of the close location to the Cleveland Art Museum, well within walking distance in good weather. And also because we were celebrating our anniversary.
Very nice room with an extraordinary tall bed, extremely comfortable. The whole hotel was extremely nice and clean. Staff very polite and attentive, recommended a great local restaurant for dinner since Sergio's, their hotel restaurant, is closed due to the death of the owner.
Curtains were large wooden slats, not very condusive for making a dark room.
We certainly would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armchairmapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a study trip in Cleveland and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff are great, especially the bar tenders. Great banter and conversation!
Breakfast can improve, but the rest is fabulous.
Rooms are generous and much is in walking distance from the doorstep - symphony, Little Italy, botanical gardens, clinics, Case Western university and Weatherhead School of Management.
Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I live about 1.5 hours away from Cleveland and can never seem to find the time to explore the city. So we decided to do an impromptu overnight there. What a find this hotel is---right in University Circle, within walking distance of the Art Museum (we were there most of the day!) and Little Italy. We got there early and were able to park our car in the Glidden House lot until check-in (free parking, yay!). The place is so uniquely decorated, with so many architectural details---just the ceiling alone takes your breath away. Our room was a standard room, kind of small but who can complain at $159 with the free parking and great breakfast. The bed was really comfortable. The only complaint I had was the noisy bathrooms---seems like we could hear EVERYTHING from the bathroom next to or above us---I'm just glad they didn't get up any earlier than they did. The breakfast was awesome--those little baked eggs, sausage, meat and cheese platter, lots of fresh blueberries with strawberries, and excellent pastries. I was surprised they didn't have any jam or jelly but maybe that was just a one-time thing. All in all we most certainly will come back to Glidden House to explore the other museums in the area!

Room Tip: You might ask about bathroom noise, but something tells me that in a place this old there is nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioJJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at this Inn for a gardening conference, and I was constantly impressed. The quality of the artwork in the hotel was amazing! It was spotlessly clean, everywhere and very well decorated. The breakfast was lovely and we really enjoyed the little bar in the evenings. We also loved the restaurant next door. Within walking distance to EVERYTHING, this hotel is a destination in itself.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
#16 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing