We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding, very nice, quiet and in an excellent neighborhood. There are many great sites to look at only steps from the front door of the hotel. The breakfast was a great addition to have in this updated Inn. We will be going back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DFederspiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    160
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
124
235
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orrville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I came here because of the close location to the Cleveland Art Museum, well within walking distance in good weather. And also because we were celebrating our anniversary.
Very nice room with an extraordinary tall bed, extremely comfortable. The whole hotel was extremely nice and clean. Staff very polite and attentive, recommended a great local restaurant for dinner since Sergio's, their hotel restaurant, is closed due to the death of the owner.
Curtains were large wooden slats, not very condusive for making a dark room.
We certainly would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armchairmapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a study trip in Cleveland and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff are great, especially the bar tenders. Great banter and conversation!
Breakfast can improve, but the rest is fabulous.
Rooms are generous and much is in walking distance from the doorstep - symphony, Little Italy, botanical gardens, clinics, Case Western university and Weatherhead School of Management.
Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I live about 1.5 hours away from Cleveland and can never seem to find the time to explore the city. So we decided to do an impromptu overnight there. What a find this hotel is---right in University Circle, within walking distance of the Art Museum (we were there most of the day!) and Little Italy. We got there early and were able to park our car in the Glidden House lot until check-in (free parking, yay!). The place is so uniquely decorated, with so many architectural details---just the ceiling alone takes your breath away. Our room was a standard room, kind of small but who can complain at $159 with the free parking and great breakfast. The bed was really comfortable. The only complaint I had was the noisy bathrooms---seems like we could hear EVERYTHING from the bathroom next to or above us---I'm just glad they didn't get up any earlier than they did. The breakfast was awesome--those little baked eggs, sausage, meat and cheese platter, lots of fresh blueberries with strawberries, and excellent pastries. I was surprised they didn't have any jam or jelly but maybe that was just a one-time thing. All in all we most certainly will come back to Glidden House to explore the other museums in the area!

Room Tip: You might ask about bathroom noise, but something tells me that in a place this old there is nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioJJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at this Inn for a gardening conference, and I was constantly impressed. The quality of the artwork in the hotel was amazing! It was spotlessly clean, everywhere and very well decorated. The breakfast was lovely and we really enjoyed the little bar in the evenings. We also loved the restaurant next door. Within walking distance to EVERYTHING, this hotel is a destination in itself.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Glidden House is a real find in Cleveland located near several museums and the Botanical Garden (and I mean walking distance). It is a charming small hotel with very comfortable though not lavish rooms at an affordable price. There is a small bar and in the mornings a quite nice buffet breakfast is offered which is included in the room price. And next door is a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband booked this hotel as part of a surprise trip for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were going to see Michael Stanley & the Resonators in concert at Packard Music Hall on a Saturday night. We drove out the night before so we would have time to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We loved this hotel. Located basically on the campus of Case Western Reserve University, it was an easy walk to many different venues. We visited the Western Reserve Historical Society/Crawford Auto-Aviation Museum which was a short walk from the hotel. It was a great way to spend a few hours on a sunny afternoon. The Cleveland Botanical Garden and many other Museums were also within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcerbo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing