We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home Away From Home”
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Bryan, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Home Away From Home”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were visiting Cleveland Clinic for 2 days and the Glidden House welcomed us with all the comforts of home. Located only about 5 minutes from the clinic, the staff was so friendly and helpful, providing us with directions to local restaurants and making sure we were comfortable from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. Our suite was beautifully decorated and was so quite and cozy. This was just what we were looking for as an escape after a long day of appointments at the clinic. It felt like we were home and not in the middle of a busy city. The breakfast is amazing and the parking is close and secure. The noon check-out time allows for a relaxing morning if you have time. The Glidden House will be our home away from home every time we are in Cleveland!

Room Tip: I highly recommend requesting one of their beautiful suites if they are available during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    176
    42
    22
    16
See reviews for
139
259
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent only one night here. We had a room on the first floor. We were worried that this might be a bit noisy with the parking lot right outside. However, the room was nice and quiet and the bedding was very comfy. Breakfast was fantastic in a very relaxing setting. The only issue was that the HVAC was extremely noisy. I think that this was just our particular room and something that needs to be looked at (the unit may just need to be fixed and all will be well). We would definitely look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahbbyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great, unique hotel located on Case Western Reserve University campus, University Circle. Great location near museums, restaraunts, close to downtown, convenient to airport, etc. My favorite hotel in Cleveland area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff could not have been nicer. I accidentally left my eyeglasses in my room and the housekeeper (Tammy?) was so incredibly nice about it - when I called and left a message, she called back right away, and had them in the mail for me immediately. She was really nice about it. The front desk people were also super nice - very pleasant. Room was spacious -- bed was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in. Walls were a bit thin but not too bad. I'd highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Tucked into the cadence of the Case Western Reserve campus is Glidden House. I was attending a conference held at the Art Museum, a short walk away. The hotel is beautifully kept, snug, elegant but felt relaxed and homey. Breakfast downstairs was well balanced with all the proper offerings. I would go back to the House anytime and recommend it highly. This hotel is like a proper cup of tea. Warm, refreshing, and nicely anticipated.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Such an amazing place to stay in Cleveland! Absolutely beautiful and private. It's not downtown but very close. Right by most of the museums. University circle is doing amazing things to attract more ppl and this hotel is privately owned and near so many things. Little Italy and Coventry are very close and both areas are great!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We drove to Cleveland just to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame! The hotel is in a great location, very pretty and quiet.nice breakfast( included) and free parking and wi fi.
Staff was friendly and helpfully with directions.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieLizzieLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing