We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot for the University Circle”
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times, both visiting Cleveland and as a resident when I needed a place to stay in the Circle. Very comfortable rooms and beds, attentive staff. Excellent food within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 676 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Glidden House to be close to Case Western Reserve University. When we checked in we were told we had a king bed even though I had explicitly requested 2 beds. ( I was traveling with my high school son and requested 2 beds every place we visited.) The desk clerk remedied that right away. When we got to our room, we noticed 2 bottles of water that were only partly drunk and another set of keys to our room already in the room. Most of the m\bathroom supplies were there but no soap. Everything else was made up and ready to go. It looked like someone else had been on the room briefly and then moved out.

The room itself was very nice and the beds were comfortable. The sound proofing wasn't as thorough as desired because we could hear voices from other rooms. It wasn't a huge problem but was mildly annoying. The heating system periodically made a very loud noise. The noise didn't disturb my sleep but it kept my son up.

The breakfast was very good and is served in a delightful dining room and glassed in room. There was a delicious oatmeal, choices of breads, omletes, heard boiled eggs, sweet pastries, cheese, yogurt and fruit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orindagc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Glidden house is on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. We have stayed there twice. The rooms are perfectly clean. The beds guarantee a great night's sleep. There is a buffet breakfast in the morning that is just great. It feels like having breakfast in your own home. There is a very good restaurant next door, Sergios's, as well. Good museums and a botanical garden are in walking distance.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed here twice. The first time wasn't stellar. The 2nd time was pretty much perfection. The breakfast provided was very good both times, and we love the atmosphere of the dining area. The house is gorgeous. The location couldn't be better for our needs of visiting our son who attends Montessori High School. It is within walking distance of several shops, restaurants and museums. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glassylady1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent botique hotel convenient to all University Circle institutions. Free parking, nicely appointed rooms, comfortable bar with great bartender (Ed) who knows everything about Cleveland, nice expanded continental breakfast with very good coffee, and an elegant atmosphere. Walking distance to the great restaurant L'Albitros and a very good restaurant Sergios. By far the best choice on the East side and maybe all of Cleveland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC-3Nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Really loved my recent stay at Glidden House. Great staff, especially Ed at the bar. Location is terrific, in the heart of University Circle and within walking distance of Little Italy. Sergio's is a terrific restaurant right next door. Only disappointment was breakfast, which was cold and insufficient both days.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It would be hard to beat the location of this little bed and breakfast/boutique hotel. It's located just a half a mile from Little Italy, on the campus of Case Western University, around the corner from the art museum and very close to the Cleveland Conservatory. My room was reasonably spacious, comfortable, and though not decorated in any memorable style, pleasantly enough decorated in a quasi early American style. The staff were all pleasant and the historic mansion and its grounds made for a lovely place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reginald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
4.5 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $179 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing