We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would highly recommend, loved our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Grayslake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend, loved our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for four wonderful days at this charming hotel. It was so much more than we were anticipating. The staff were very inviting and gave us much information about the hotel and surroundings. Breakfast is included and was elegantly presented and if you're lucky to have the chance to sit in the enclosed garden room your experience is double. The breakfast staff is very friendly and the banquet table is situated in a gorgeous vintage room.. You are close to everything. The Cleveland Art Museum is in walking distance as is the Botanical Gardens. Assigned parking made it easy to park.We can't wait to come back again. A Wonderful experience. First rate.
Bob and Margaret Jones
Illinois

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor near the end of the hall Never heard any noise at all. If you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    169
    41
    19
    16
See reviews for
129
245
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mansfield, oh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I spent the night here and we loved it. The concierge was great, super friendly and really helpful. We were there on a Wednesday and he showed us a flier about an outdoor concert and festival that was very close. We walked over and had a great time. It was free and happens every Wednesday during the summer. All of the other employees were really friendly too.

The room was very, very clean and really nice. Not huge but great for two people. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. The woodwork throughout the hotel is fantastic and gives the place an air of comfort and sophistication. The price was also great and included breakfast in the am and two tickets for drinks at the hotel bar.

Finally,what a great location. It was a beautiful night and we had the best time walking around the Case campus and walking to Little Italy. There is a coffee house next door that had live music the night we were there. You could just walk over and listen for awhile. We will most definitely go back. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank librannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wedding reception or just staying here for a few days the Glidden House is a great place to stay. The rooms are nice and the help very friendly and helpful. Close to Case Western College and the museums the location could not be better. A hot breakfast with sausage and pasteries. Except for no pool or excercise room this hotel is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early pastries are very good and are in limited quanties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahz10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything you read about the Glidden House is true. It is clearly one of the best places to stay in Cleveland. I am originally from Cleveland and usually stay with family. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary the first week of August and decided to play "tourist" instead. The stay at the Glidden House was just excellent. We actually booked our room through AARP and got a very good rate. Especially when you look at the breakfast - much more than a continental. The breakfast included an egg dish, homemade pastries, fresh fruit with berries, cereals and much more. Plus, you got two free drink tickets for the bar. Add it all up and the place was very reasonable. We stayed in one of the modern rooms. It was beautifully appointed, immaculately clean and very up to date, including a 42 inch flat screen TV. Staying on the Case campus was fun in the summer. Not sure how it would be when school is on. But, the campus and University CIrcle are really lovely areas. We walked around quite a bit. There is also a gym on campus that offers a reduced day rate for Glidden House patrons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

At Case Western Reserve University. Easy walking to art galleries, botanical garden, natural history museum, French and Italian restaurants, parks, enormous historic cemetery, outstanding architecture. An easy drive to other Cleveland attractions. Excellent included breakfast, nice small bar, very friendly staff, lots of nice parents of smart students.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brpafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Glidden House was a very nice little inn. Great location next to the museums and botanical garden. Nice staff, comfy bed, and huge TV. Perfect place for a business trip. I would highly recommend checking out the art museum while in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went to Cleveland for the night and stayed at the Glidden House. It was a very quiet neighborhood and a great hotel. We had very relaxing time and a restful nights sleep. I would definitely recommend it and the next time we go we will be staying there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rbuskirk1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing