We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about Glidden House”
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived on Saturday, there was a wedding, so there was no parking but valet. That worked out ok, but was a little worrisome.
The front desk was nice and helpful. The hotel is clean and it is walking distance to the art and natural science museum as well as Severence Hall.
The room was small, but nice. However, the bed was horrible. They covered a lumpy mattress with a feather mattress cover. The middle of the bed was 6 inches higher. My side slopped and I had to hang on or I would have rolled out of bed. At my request, they replaced the lumpy feathers with another cover, but the mattress was still horrible (like sleeping on sloped corncobs).
On a positive note, the included breakfast was the best! They provided a variety of excellent foods (steel cut oatmeal, eggs, breakfast rolls, etc). Real quality in a gorgeous room.
So, great location and staff, but room was not great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcross888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 675 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

A very nice hotel for the Cleveland area. We visited the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, and while this hotel was not very close to the museum, it was a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed overnight at The Glidden House at University Circle in Cleveland, Ohio. I was initially attracted to this hotel because of the photos, and we were not disappointed. It was at one time the home of the Glidden family (of the paint company fame), and the lobby, bar, lounge and parlor all have beautiful original woodwork and detail. The price of the room, which was very reasonable, came with breakfast and a coupon for a free cocktail. After check-in inside the charming front entrance, we parked in the back and found our room on the third floor (there is an elevator!). The original mansion houses the suite rooms, and the addition houses the standard rooms, which we had. It was GORGEOUS!!! Beautiful pale gold upper walls with deep blue patterned wall paper below. Lovely bedding- feather bed topper, doubled sheeting and plenty of pillows. Very comfortable. Dark wood furniture including a large desk, two desk type chairs, two oval bed tables and a comfy arm chair .A granite topped chest held the coffee maker and ice bucket, and there was a lighted closet with and ironing board and iron. Beautiful treatments on the window overlooking the patio. Bathroom had a large granite vanity, a nightlight and magnifying makeup mirror. Loved that! Everything was spotlessly clean The only problem we had with the room was that a week earlier, I had requested a refrigerator and was told there would be no problem and no extra charge. Upon check-in, there was no refrigerator, and when I asked at the front desk I was told that there was a $25 charge.
Before dinner at the hotel's restaurant Sergio's in the carriage house next door, we went down to the bar for our free cocktail. I ordered a vodka martini and was pleasantly surprised when the very pleasant bartender pulled out Grey Goose vodka. I was even more pleased when he offered me bleu cheese stuffed olives. After relaxing with our drinks in the lounge, we enjoyed a fantastic dinner with excellent service. Highly recommend the delicious Coconut Butter Cake.
The included breakfast was served in the parlor with plenty of seating nearby and also in the sunroom. The buffet featured pancakes, mini omelets with a choice of fillings, hard boiled eggs, fresh whole fruit and berries, english muffins and bagels to toast with a huge selection of condiments, cold cereal and milk. Coffee and juice were located in the dining room and sunroom. We did have a slight issue when we found that they were waiting for fresh silverware after we had filled our plates.
The hotel was very quiet and relaxing. It's across the street from the lovely botanical gardens and near the science museum. It's located on the campus of Case Western University which is beautifully landscaped (as are the hotel grounds) and includes a stunning Frank Gehry building. Altogether a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Glidden House and were pleasantly surprised - the room was spacious and bed was most comfortable. The location was good, parking as available and there was a lovely restaurant just next door.

While I can't say that the staff were particularly friendly, they did honor requests (a cup of hot water one evening and more berries at the breakfast buffet one morning).

All in all, we'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

While I was in Cleveland for business, my stay at Glidden House was a great pleasure. The hotel is ideally located for a lovely morning walk before work, the room was absolutely lovely and I slept deeply and well in my comfortable surroundings. It's a great building and wonderful hotel.

(Do take care when arriving late - parking was a bit difficult after 9PM. Though the lot was very convenient, empty spaces were sparse.)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose to stay here because we needed to be close to the Cleveland Clinic. It is right next store. But, it is also next store to the Cleveland Art Museum, Museum of Natural History, Case Western Reserve, Severance Hall (home of the Cleveland Orchestra), etc.
But the charm exceeds the convenience. The restored common rooms gave a luxurious feel to our stay. The buffet breakfast was excellent -- much better than average.
We arrived on a Sunday, when most Cleveland restaurants are closed. But the registration clerk helped us find a great restaurant in Little Italy, which is very close. Throughout our stays, the staff has always been most helpful.
It's a great value.
Although we stayed for medical trips, Glidden House is clearly a fabulous place to stay for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family met at Glidden House for our second recurring reunion last week. There were approximately 60 of us and Glidden House was wonderful in handling all the details--from cocktails, to rooms, to meals, etc. The setting, nestled among Cleveland's beautiful University Circle, was ideal. Smaller groups were able to visit the museums and botanical garden during the day and the kids were able to romp on the large nearby greens during afternoon picnics. The Glidden House staff were attentive and courteous, and made the entire event a tremendous success. I highly recommend that anyone visiting the Cleveland area stay at Glidden House. The location, staff, and charm of the Inn are well worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $177 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing