We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Super charming. Super convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Super charming. Super convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose to stay here because we needed to be close to the Cleveland Clinic. It is right next store. But, it is also next store to the Cleveland Art Museum, Museum of Natural History, Case Western Reserve, Severance Hall (home of the Cleveland Orchestra), etc.
But the charm exceeds the convenience. The restored common rooms gave a luxurious feel to our stay. The buffet breakfast was excellent -- much better than average.
We arrived on a Sunday, when most Cleveland restaurants are closed. But the registration clerk helped us find a great restaurant in Little Italy, which is very close. Throughout our stays, the staff has always been most helpful.
It's a great value.
Although we stayed for medical trips, Glidden House is clearly a fabulous place to stay for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    160
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
125
235
31
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family met at Glidden House for our second recurring reunion last week. There were approximately 60 of us and Glidden House was wonderful in handling all the details--from cocktails, to rooms, to meals, etc. The setting, nestled among Cleveland's beautiful University Circle, was ideal. Smaller groups were able to visit the museums and botanical garden during the day and the kids were able to romp on the large nearby greens during afternoon picnics. The Glidden House staff were attentive and courteous, and made the entire event a tremendous success. I highly recommend that anyone visiting the Cleveland area stay at Glidden House. The location, staff, and charm of the Inn are well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Gracious service. Comfortable accommodations. Lovely grounds. Within walking distance of the Cleveland Museum, Botanical Garden, and a number of restaurants and bars. Perfect spot for a family reunion or wedding. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were drawn in by the reviews we saw and assumed it was a suite as shown but when we arrived our suite was tiny. It was very nice but there was no vanity so my husband had to wait until I was all done before he could use the bathroom. It would have been so much better if they had a light over the entry mirror or even a mirror/light by the TV. There was room for that to be accommodated. The staff was great and the breakfast was nice.Loved the shower when we discovered how it worked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smith216428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Glidden House is located nearby: Case Western Reserve University and the Cleveland Clinic. I totally recommend it. Safe area, friendly and professional staff. The little bar inside of the place was intimate and convenient (Good Happy Hour)!! We had a excellent time!! Looking forward to stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaquin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Glidden House is conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. The rooms are small, but comfortable, but I didn't find the bed that good and I can't say why. It should have been comfortable with its down mattress pad, but it wasn't and I didn't sleep well. The included breakfast was great and plentiful. Wireless internet access was included in the room cost. Parking was tight -- small spaces and not quite enough to go around if a function was being held at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear WorldJourneyer,
We are sorry to hear that you didn't find the bed to be comfortable. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast! We hope that you choose to stay at the Glidden House the next time that you are in Cleveland.
Sincerely,
Tom Farinacci
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We just loved it here. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The location was perfect--we walked to all the museums, campus, restaurants and neighborhoods. We will be back next year (or sooner).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, General Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Laurie C,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Tom Farinacci
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing