We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“BEAUTIFUL BOUTIQUE HOTEL"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL BOUTIQUE HOTEL"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I was not only impressed with this historical boutique hotel, but with its wonderful staff. I was warmly welcomed by Melissa at the front desk and I was made to feel right at home. James in concierge was GREAT! The room was nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. Did not have a good view, (room 103), but I was not in the room all that much. The hotel was situated right across the street from the Botanical Gardens and other surrounding museums such as the Cleveland Museum of Natural History. The Public Square (downtown) & Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum is only about 1/2 away from the hotel via RTA, (public transporation). I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had room #103 which did not have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wodahs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear wodahs37,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We hope that you will return to visit us again.
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    156
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
121
229
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Exceptional service. Imaculate. A small hotel with a great history (a national historical treasure). Fabulous location: half a block from one of the finest museums in the US, from Severence Hall and the Cleveland Orchestra, The University Circle is easy just for a stroll Right next to a small but excellent Italian restaurant. Cannot wait to go back and be waited upon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben050938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Ben05093,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your return visit!
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Looking for a fun overnight close to museums we found this gem on Trip Advisor. We had one of the suites. It was a delicious mix of modern and antiques and the bed was extremely comfortable. However, it was a only a full bed which I know some couples object to. We wished the couch in the sitting room was more than a settee but other than that we loved our room. The restaurant was tiny but the food and service were outstanding. Our gripe... we arrived early Monday afternoon and asked for directions to the Museum of Natural History. The clerk said all museums were closed on Monday. We were confused - we had checked at home. When we got into our room we immediately checked on the internet and the museum was open. We went and enjoyed ourselves but felt cheated of the hour and a half of our visit when we just wandered around the icy freezing campus until we got in our room. When we returned I politely told the clerk that the museum was open on Mondays in case any one else asked. He actually said no I was mistaken. I had to show him our brochure and then he said that this must be something new. He was smiling the whole time but I did find this somewhat annoying.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CeceliaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear CeceliaMichigan,
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Due to the recent change in hours of operation for the neighboring museums, we have retrained our frontline staff to ensure that our guests receive correct and helpful information.
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I got married this June at the Cleveland Botanical Gardens (which is within walking distance to the Glidden). We stayed at the Glidden and recommended that our guests stay there as well (many of our guests were out of town and we almost filled the hotel). We hosted an even the Friday before the wedding. As far as events go, I don't think they have much experience in this area. I know that a few of our guests had messed up rooms, and I had to frequently talk to the staff to figure things out. It was a bit more stressful than I had hoped for.

However....the Glidden is just beautiful! The location is so great...it feels like you are staying in a home, not a huge hotel, but it's within walking distance to great food, coffee, and cultural locations (Cleveland Botanical Gardens, a must see!, University Circle, Case Western, and the Cleveland Museum of Art..which is great and is FREE).

We stayed in one of the suites (which I would recommend if you can afford it). I heard that each of the suites is decorated differently. It provided us with a lot of room and the bathroom had heated tiles on the floor...major plus! The only downside to the room is that there was just a tiny bench in lieu of a couch, which was not very comfortable.

Basically, I would definitely recommend staying here if you will be in the University Circle area, but would be apprehensive to recommend planning events or blocking a large block of rooms for your wedding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayellepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Kayellepea,
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you had challenges with your wedding block during your stay. We host almost 100 wedding blocks each year and do our best to ensure that there is no added stress for the host. We are very sorry that we fell short with your group. Please accept our apologies.
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This gem is almost more a boutique hotel than a B&B. It exudes the warmth and atmosphere of an upscale inn: beautiful, clean rooms and lovely common spaces, AND importantly (for me), the service is fantastic -- staff is helpful, friendly and gracious. Food from restaurant next door VERY high quality and much better than hotel fare in general. Great bar and more intimate/down-to-earth than hotels also. Would be wonderful for unaccompanied travelers to feel comfortable. I loved my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teenmom77005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Teenmom77005,
Thank you for sharing the experiences of your stay. We are happy to hear that our hotel met your expectations and hope that you stay with us again!
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

LOVE GLIDDEN, LOVE GLIDDEN, LOVE GLIDDEN. We had a lovely time, from the moment we walked in the door to the time we walked back out at the end of our stay. The entire staff worked to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We stayed for a weekend getaway (we live in Cleveland) and had a blast. The neighborhood is pedestrian friendly with great eateries and coffee shops, but back to Glidden, What a great place, I highly recommend it for business travel as well as leisure. We could not be happier with our weekend getaway at Glidden House.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear ClevelandBob,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway at the Glidden House! We hope that you visit us again!
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stayed at Glidden House for an interview at the close by university hospitals. I wish I had been on a more leisurely trip because the hotel was amazing. Its in a older house converted into a hotel with 3 floors. The public areas are absolutely beautiful. The staff were great. The complimentary daily breakfast is not to be missed. It is served in the old and beautiful dining room of the house. The rooms were well outfitted. I was impressed to see the flat screen TV on the wall. Nearby (within walking distance) are the art museum any symphony as well as Case Western. If I came back to Cleveland for a more leisurely vacation, i would without a doubt stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fallingleaf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Fallingleaf21,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House! We hope that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing