We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandma's getting tired!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grandma's Homestead Restaurant - CLOSED

Grandma's Homestead Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grandma's getting tired!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Sad to say, the food was not very good this time around. The chicken was VERY dry. Mashed potatoes were loaded with gravy so I don't know if they were instant or mashed, but the cabbage slaw was good. Hubby had a special which was chicken on top of mashed potatoes and noodles and he said it was just okay. I used to love this place but can tell Grandma is getting tired, as she has the restaurant up for sale. We used to see people lined up outside the door at noon, but not the day we were there. Enough said!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sombrero6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    8
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purgitsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

got the buffet dinner. Food was hot and chicken was well done. It is also close to the Swiss Inn where we were staying.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bss75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Make Sure You Find It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This off the main road about 200 yds., but if you want to taste real Amish bake goods, this the best in Ohio. (Ohio Magazine). Once you walk in the door, you know you are in trouble, the aroma of fresh bake goods is overwhelming. You will want to buy one of everything. You will see real Amish women actually baking in the kitchen.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TallOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“The Chicken was the best I have ever eaten. Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Chicken was the best I have ever eaten in my life. It was fantastic. I could tell that the mashed potatoes were made from real potatoes and were just like my Farmer's wife Grandmother used to fix for us when I was a kid growing up near Jamestown, Ohio.
My wife still raves about the delicious Homemade Bread & Real Amish butter!
My wife and I can hardly wait to go back and eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“INSTANT MASHED POTATOS AND STORE BREAD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a very average quality restaurant that appears to serve instant potatos, and serves store bought white bread!
What ever happened to Amish grown and Amish MADE food?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank motelcritic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Homestead Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing