We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guggisberg Swiss Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Zinck's Inn(Berlin)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wallhouse Hotel(Walnut Creek)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berlin Resort(Berlin)(Great Value!)
$120
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Inn(Walnut Creek)
$129
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Millersburg)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Millersburg(Millersburg)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
123
36
14
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
36
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamish countryduck pondwonderful hot breakfastholmes countytwo sinkshorse stableswe've stayedlobby areamain lobbyroom was very clean and comfortablerolling hillscinnamon rollspropertycornwineryohiotile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 181 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were here with a large family group and we were very pleased. The rooms were clean, and in good condition. The breakfast was nice and the staff friendly and helpful. A real bonus for those that like to horeride is that it can be arranged at the hotel and the stables are a short walk. The kids loved feeding the ducks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejambea, Manager at Guggisberg Swiss Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you so much for the review! We enjoyed having your family reunion and are so glad that you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We traveled with friends from Switzerland for a week and this was our last B&B and the worst. All the B&B's cost about the same but this the Inn was lacking. Our friends room had bugs on the carpet and the sheets were not clean or they just had stains (we don't know for sure). They didn't see this until late in the evening and so they just slept on their beach towels over the sheets and pillows. Our room was clean but the furniture, hair dryer, etc., all seemed to be orginal to when the Inn was built...maybe in the 1980's? For breakfast they did make omelets to order but other than that it was cold cereal and some pastries. The coffee was OK, would have appreciated a cup of coffee that you can't see through. Just an OK breakfast, especially as compared to the other B&B's where we had been. The lobby had some nice Swiss items, but the pictures on the wall where faded (maybe they could contact the Swiss Travel Board to have some new posters sent?) and other items were aging. Most hotels would have some routine updating, replacement of aging items, but this hotel must be controlling the budget and not re-investing in the Inn. The setting was quite nice, beautiful farm country side. I would go back to the area again, but we would definately select another hotel. Oh, and we never saw any horses as so many of their photos showed.

Room Tip: I have no advise, since we would not recommend staying here.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejambea, General Manager at Guggisberg Swiss Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for the review. We are so very sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay. We are very sorry that we didnt meet your standards. We get an awful lot of wonderful comments on our breakfast. Our breakfast casserole is our feature dish and we re very sorry that you missed it. It was right next to the omelet bar. I.m not sure if you were aware but we arent a B & B and we dont advertise being a B & B so the breakfast was more than most INN s will put out.
I understand that your friends were unhappy but it seems that you re room was fine. They never mentioned anything until the next morning so we had no time to repair the issues. Unfortunately there was little we could do after this point.
The horses come out most evenings. We dont have a set time for them to come out so you may have missed them.
Remember one thing, you are in the country. The bug that was in the room was just a ground beetle. We are in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed the night at Guggusberg Swill Inn, It was a sudden decision to go to the Amish Country, couldn't get a room at the Carlisle House where we stayed and loved so much, they recommended the Guggisberg Swiss Inn to us. Absolutely great, the atmosphere, the grounds, horses, people at the desk, entertainment was superb. I would rated it excellent, but the tub wouldn't drain in our room, I told the staff, I am sure they have had it fixed, can't wait to go back,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We can't say enough about the hospitality of the owners of this inn. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there isn't anything that you want for in this inn. Breakfast was perfect in all ways.

Britanna was gracious enough to let us know about a wonderful road for us to take for a drive to see some of the beautiful country side. Thanks for the insight.

The last day we were there the horses came for a visit in the yard. It was great to be able to talk to the owner and get some insight into the history of some of the horses.

We can't wait for our next visit to this great place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shir_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

(Our visit to the Guggisberg Swiss Inn was actually back in March of 2010. I didn't have an option to choose a date that far back, but I wanted to offer a recommendation of this Inn because we loved it so much!)
Our family stayed here during our first visit to Amish country. We visited off-season, so the inn was practically empty, but we liked it that way. Sort of had things to ourselves. The only bad thing about it was that we didn't get to see the horses.
We stayed in a standard room. It was very clean, and the quilts on the bed gave it a homey feel. I was surprised to find that the complimentary bottles of lotion, body wash, and shampoo were actually from Bath and Body Works. Other than that, it wasn't much different than any other motel room.
The view is incredible. Absolutely incredible. It's the most peaceful, relaxing place in which we have stayed. In back of the inn is a beautiful meadow with a pond, large gazebo, swing set, and picnic tables. Our children loved feeding the ducks and swans. There was plenty of room for them to run off some energy.
The nightly snack is fresh-baked cookies, delicious cheese from their factory across the street, crackers, and lemonade. Breakfast was the usual continental fare with the addition of mixed fruit.
We booked a dinner with an Amish family through the Inn. It was expensive, but worth every penny. The food was heavenly, and we so enjoyed being able to visit with the sweet Amish family in their home.
The staff at the Inn was so kind and attentive and, by the time we left, we felt almost like family.
I can't recommend this place highly enough. We hope to visit Holmes County again, and we won't even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews