We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice club”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagrin Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Club at Hillbrook
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Very, very nice club”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The personnel at this club were very accomodating and inviting. It was a very busy weekend with a wedding reception and a sunday brunch but the staff were on top of everything. The dinner experience at the club was excellent and memorable. I left some of my clothing behind after leaving and the staff made sure to send the clothes to my residence the next day, going above and beyond. My wife and I stayed in the Burke Suite which I recommend for couples as it is spacious and decorated nicely. I plan to visit in the summer time and am looking forward to have the opportunity to walk the outside of the establishment. The cookies and coffee available to us outside in the hall to the room was very convenient

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyP618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    37
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
120
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We also stayed here on a Travelzoo package and loved it. I don't know how affordable it would be for the average person if they booked without the package but with everything the package included it was great!. Very beautiful old mansion, rooms were clean and the staff truly went out of their way to make your stay exceptional. We were in the Johnston suite and it seemed the fireplace was just for show, would of been nice to use it since it was winter time. Would love to stay here in the summer to enjoy the beauty of the grounds as well. Definitely a great romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I went to get away for a quiet evening. The food was great and our room was pretty. However, the club was hosting a Sweet 16 party that night and unfortunately the teenagers were not monitored whatsoever. At 11:50pm, they were extremely loud and boisterous, and started pounding on a door to our room. The extreme noise continued for another 40 minutes when we decided it was not worth it to stay- since we wanted a quiet, good night's sleep away from the kids, and we drove home. Huge disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JelizaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We get a coupon through Travelzoo, and stayed over on a Saturday. We enjoyed the ambiance and romance of the inn. We stayed in the Sherwin Suite. The rooms were spacious and the hospitality was great. One big disappointment though was that the fireplace in our room did not work -- they said the fireplaces in the rooms on the second floor did not work. Also, our room was quite chilly, but they were kind enough to give us a space heater, which warmed up the room nicely. The continental breakfast was just right. We also enjoyed the coffee and cookies set up in the hall. We walked around the village in Chagrin Falls, and it was lovely; we really enjoyed it, especially with all the Christmas decorations and the snow falling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed the hospitality and relaxed ambiance of this beautiful private club. We hope to visit again sometime during the summer months to fully enjoy the beauty of The Club at Hillbrook. The woodburning fireplaces did add additional charm during our stay in November.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Josephine Suite and it was lovely. The Burke Suite, we were told, is even nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My title "The Jewel of Ohio" says it all. In my review I was going to state that we had discovered a rare jewel in our home state, but, instead I believe we may have discovered The Jewel. My wife and I absolutely loved everything about this beautiful old mansion. Even though we booked late and were given The Graham room, which is the smallest room, it was still beautiful and was had plenty of room. Their are some differences that had to be dealt with from staying in a regular hotel, but they were well worth the effort and were even amusing and quite quaint. The staff was very friendly and courteous, going well above and beyond to make our stay quite fabulous. The dinner on Saturday night couldn't have been any better. My wife said the Steak Diane was the most delicious steak that she had ever eaten. We will definitely make a return trip.
Tim and Cheryl - Frankfort, Ohio

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you can get a good deal through Living Social or TravelZoo, give it a try. It's very charming but walls not soundproof. The staff is helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was above average. The restaurant a bit of a mystery. This is a country club minus the golf course. The members have lockers for their alcohol. So the kitchen caters to both members and guests, such as ourselves. Prices are steep for seemingly mainstream offerings. It started out poorly due to their below average bread/rolls: The were those nasty token rolls you buy in the freezer case and heat up - yuck. The dill sauce on the salmon was way too salty. They were attempting to be hip by offering haricot vert while having to explain to almost every dinner that they were skinny green beans...so call them green beans already. But the staff was very nice and service was good and word to the wise, it's no cash and they automatically add 20%.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagrin Falls
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Solon
6.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland-Solon
5.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Cleveland-Beachwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cleveland Solon
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Beachwood
5.3 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club at Hillbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club at Hillbrook

Property: The Club at Hillbrook
Address: 14800 Hillbrook Dr, Chagrin Falls, OH 44022-2634 (Formerly Hillbrook Club)
Location: United States > Ohio > Chagrin Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chagrin Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you enter the gates of Hillbrook, one experiences the sudden disappearance of everyday cares. The Club seems a world away, yet it's just 30 minutes from downtown Cleveland and 5 minutes away from the picturesque historical downtown Chagrin Falls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Club Hotel Chagrin Falls
The Club At Hillbrook Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing