We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The French Touch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rue Dumaine

Rue Dumaine
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Centerville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: McEwen Road & Lyons Road
Description: The RUE(roux) is dedicated to bringing you the freshest local ingredients. By creating lasting relationships with our areas' farmers, we can provide a fresh, seasonal approach to your next private dinner, intimate wedding reception, OR come check us out for an evening or an afternoon during one of our public events! THE RUE(roux) is the glue!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
228 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The French Touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a change and really nice place to take that special one? Try this restaurant. Something new to the Centerville / Dayton area and a great long needed change. Yes a little pricey but the food, atmosphere and service are excellent and worth that special night out. I encourage trying this restaurant; you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank tony n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    23
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
166 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Stands out from the rest in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Each time I go to the area I pay a visit to this restaurant. Food is great and service very good. I come from Europe and I find food here to be very, very good; there are no 'loud' flavours that hit you like a fist but a great melange of sutleness. It's very close to the type of experience you get in France or Italy where you eat to enjoy food (not to feed yourself) and to experience the preparation and inventiveness of the chef. Bread is great and there is a good selection of wine. I also like the fact that portions are normal and you don't end up feeling close to explode at the end of the meal (I hate leaving food on the plate, unless it deserves to be left!). Definetely a place to recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A staple of fine dining in this area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When we want to have some unique fine dining and do not want to go far, Rue Dumaine always comes through. Fresh local ingredients prepared creatively with a fine selection of wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabuleux!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Being relatively new to the Dayton area, we were unfamiliar with the "higher end" restaurants in the area. We were looking for a nice restaurant for our anniversary and friends recommended Rue. My husband looked it up and said the menu sounded good, so he made online reservations. (online reservations were sooo easy to make!) We arrived and our table was ready immediately. Our server, Molly, was SUPER knowledgeable and was able to help us understand the french terms on the menu. (really, the menu wasn't scary at all, very readable) From the wine to the food to the service, we were incredibly impressed. For a strip mall restaurant, it was a complete and utter surprise. One would assume it an average craft, however this is waaaaay above average. It is our new "go-to" restaurant. We hope to spend many happy occasions with the staff at Rue!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“French Bistro Food in the Dayton, OH area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We tried Rue Dumaine before we moved to Florida and it was great but a tad bit pricey for the Dayton area, we thought. Well they are still here and busier then ever. It's one of those gems in a little strip shopping area which has evolved into a series of lesser priced chain restaurants. We are older, eat out a lot , can't drink, so are looking for a great eating experience. This has to be one of the best restaurants, if not the best in southwest Ohio. Our compliments to Chef and owner Ann.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue Dumaine also viewed

 

Been to Rue Dumaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing