We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much potential that has yet to be realized” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rue Dumaine

Rue Dumaine
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Centerville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: McEwen Road & Lyons Road
Description: The RUE(roux) is dedicated to bringing you the freshest local ingredients. By creating lasting relationships with our areas' farmers, we can provide a fresh, seasonal approach to your next private dinner, intimate wedding reception, OR come check us out for an evening or an afternoon during one of our public events! THE RUE(roux) is the glue!
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So much potential that has yet to be realized”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

While Dayton may not be the mecca of foodie culture, there is still room for good restaurants serving high quality cuisine. Rue Dumaine is a restaurant that has not reached its potential. Great sounding menu, average / above average taste and quality. We had the short ribs, chicken and fish. The chicken was without doubt the best in terms of flavor. The short ribs were tender, but lacked mature flavors. The fish was cooked well, but lacked in flavor. Desert was definitely the highlight though any reasonably good home chef could do a better job on the sorbet. Overall average but disappointing. Could and should be far better

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boardmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    23
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Savory dishes, unexpected location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We don't have a lot of experience with French food, but this visit sure makes us want to have more. The menu consists of fresh, local ingredients. With the menu changing weekly, it guarantees there will always be new and exciting to try. We had the butternut squash soup, chardonnay braised beef short ribs,Trout Amandine, and the gelato. Everything was high quality, well-prepared, and had beautiful presentation. We also liked how the main dishes centered around meats and vegetables, rather than "filler" carbs. After the meal, the head Chef Anne Kearney came out of the kitchen to meet us and chat. Wish we lived in Dayton, so we could go back regularly!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crusnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, OH
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious Anniversary Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I don't usually review the local places, but Rue Dumaine seems special. The food, presentation, and service are all top-notch. We aren't "foodies", so you have to put some blind faith into the fact that each dish will be excellent, even if the ingredients sound a bit unusual. We had a delicious anniversary meal.

As for atmosphere, the tables are very close together and it is somewhat loud. You can embrace this as feeling like you are in a big city restaurant. However, it is not some place that I would take my elderly parents who would not be able to hear!

We did also go during Restaurant Week, and the service wasn't up to snuff. But we've had a good experience all other times.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohio-Brown-Eyed-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville and Naples
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Noi8sy and Fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've eaten at Rue Dumaine several times, with inconsistent results. This week, during Dayton Restaurant Week, we again sampled the special dishes. Both the chicken and the fist lacked a special touch, especially lacking a sauce or juice that made the food pop. Portions were small for the Restaurant Week menu, which we expected, but we did not expect a lack of the typical touch of the restaurant.

As usual, the inside dining area was very noisy. The tables seems especially close together this time. We were stuck in a corner, so maybe the noise was greater there, but I think the general decor makes for a noisy restaurant. It was not a relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JandP69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, oh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Fantastic food every time - always go hear for my birthday each year, and can't seem to order anything other than the fantastic short ribs. This time, service was impecible, not bad before but outstanding now. Really loud, though, as popular restaurants are. Too bad they can't calm the noise down a bit, but the food, service, and satisfaction are well worth it!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue Dumaine also viewed

 

Been to Rue Dumaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing