We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was a "WOW"!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently took my daughter to visit Cedarville University and we stayed in the Hearthstone Inn. It is gorgeous from top to bottom. The owners didn't miss a detail in the decorating. You can see the love they've put into this place. Our favorite amenity was a vanity sink in the room (in addition to a full bathroom with sink).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneManager, Owner at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We are always thoroughly delighted when our guests have exceptionally memorable stays! As we have entered 2013, you will now enjoy full DirecTV-HD in your guest room as well as in our lobby and game room. Our popular Jacuzzi King Suites now feature upgraded bedding, big screen HDTV on-wall theater systems and marvelous electric fireplaces. Don't forget our genuine Jacuzzi hot tubs too! See you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night and brought our bikes with us. This was not the first time we stayed here. It is literally right on the bike trail so you can just unpack your bikes and start peddling.

But onto the Inn. The proprietors, Stuart and Ruth, are some of the most down to earth people that you would ever want to meet. They are passionate about their inn and about you having a thoroughly enjoyable experience while visiting with them. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet.

But the ambience of the common area is what really stands out at this Inn. This is the third time we have stayed here and it is really priced quite economically for what you get. It is not far at all from Clifton Inn, Yellow Springs, and Young;s Dairy, a must visit.

Stay here and you will feel most invited, comfortable and at ease!

Room Tip: They have some rooms with nice sized jacuzzi tubs to take care of those tired muscles after a day of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBHCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneManager, Owner at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

A cyclist's haven is indeed what we endeavor to provide at Hearthstone Inn & Suites. As the only independent inn located adjacent to the Little Miami/Ohio-to-Erie Bike Trail, we are thrilled to be able to serve our guests with exceptional comfort, picky-picky cleanliness, and amenity beyond the norm. We look forward to your return visit when the warm weather returns - and do bring along your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

While visiting friends in Cedarville, they had suggested the Hearthstone Inn & suites. This is a delightful little in, with a mini-museum of the Civil War. The room was comfortable and had appropriate amenities. The location was perfect for a visit to Cedarville, especially for parents visiting sons/daughters in one of the three universities/colleges in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hi CanadaCate! Your nice review is certainly appreciated! Although we are not really a "bed and breakfast" at all, but an independent hotel, it appears that we have successful left that "B&B" feel with you! That is <exactly> what we envisioned when we designed and built our hotel back in 2001! From the point of a guest's arrival (where you are a person, not a credit card number) to your tastefully appointed room (not just blond-color plastic veneer laminates), to the breakfast (custom roasted coffee included) and real HDTV (not just "flat screens" with snowy pictures)...we endeavor to one-up the national brands. Maybe even TWO-up them!

We do look forward to your next visit from, presumably, CANADA (a great land indeed!). Just come on down before the winter glaciers inhibit your travel! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here several times before our daughter took a car back to campus.
This is a beautiful hotel, almost like staying at a B&B, in that the staff was always warm and friendly, and the continental breakfast was simply out-of-this world. Always had a different kind of home-made pastry/muffin/etc.
The University discount was very helpful.
Decor very nice, and the owner showed me a Civil War collection he kept on the 2nd floor.
I too noticed a slight noise problem, but I think it was possibly due to construction. Seemed that the walls were a little thinner than your run-of-the-mill hotel chain, and I heard hallway noises a little louder than I usually heard them in those other types of places. However, with an MP3 player & ear-buds, this becomes a non-issue for me.
Always very clean & fresh-smelling, and the beds were comfortable.
Convenience, cleanliness, location & safety were top factors for me.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, Guest Relations Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We wish to thank our guests who are thoughtful to write kind words about our independent inn! Indeed, our building construction is with "upgraded frame" components, similar to homes, unlike the steel girder and cinder block of large hotels/motels. We have integrated into Hearthstone the best materials and design possible in order to maintain that "quaint and refreshing" feel, avoiding the often "vanilla" experience of franchise properties. Our attention to detail and obsession for cleanliness is carefully maintained throughout. We are presently reviewing amenity upgrade possibilities for 2013 and will announce these as final choices are made.

So, whether you are traveling to visit a local university, enjoying our nationally-acclaimed and adjacent bike trail system, venturing into nearby Yellow Springs, antique-shopping in the area, out on business, planning a romantic "Jacuzzi" weekend with that special someone, or just desiring a casual "getaway", our Hearthstone Inn & Suites staff is delighted to serve you! And indeed... we will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I haven't stayed here for about a year. There have been several small touches done that keep it looking and feeling fresh. The staff was amazing as always. I look forward to my next stay there.
It is very convenient to downtown coffee shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghodecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Since this is literally the only hotel in the village of Cedarville, the convenience factor here cannot be overstated. There are more options in Xenia and Springfield, but nothing beats the convenience of being 5 minutes from campus.

Those visiting the university during the school year can get a special rate, making the standard room a very good value. The entrance and lobby are very charming, and breakfast was definitely above average. The free WiFi is great and the signal was good for us.

Overall we had a good stay, but there are several things that need improvement. The standard room was just that... standard. It looks exactly like a Holiday Inn Express or Comfort Inn with the same amenities. The carpet seemed a bit worn, and they could definitely use new bed sheets and comforters. The bath towels were very rough and smelled musty.

I didn't sleep great both nights because of noise from other guests. I could hear the man next door snoring throughout the whole night. During the day, his phone conversations were crystal clear as well.

The other weird thing is that they lock the front door at midnight (it was 10:30pm one night), so you have to walk along the driveway to the rear of the building. If it wasn't in the super safe community of Cedarville, this walk would make women feel uncomfortable in the dark of night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time so write your review of your stay at Hearthstone. We especially are appreciative when we are informed of any noise issues during a guest's actual stay so that we may address any remedies. Please mention this during your next visit so that we may take extra measures, within our control, to put you in a quiet room. We do know how disruptive that occasional, noisy neighbor can be! We have heard some rather loud snoring and voices in the past too! This may be particularly evident if in a "connector"-type room at many hotels. Be assured that our concern is a good restful stay for every guest! If our Front Desk is informed, we make every effort to contact the noisy room and "quiet things down".

We are currently in process of upgrading both linens, bedding, and towels. Finding the right source of quality guest room supplies is a challenge, but we are actively addressing the matter. Again, being notified during a guest stay of any disappointment with an amenity is important to us. Your other concerns will also be addressed

As we are a small, independent inn in a quiet village, we share a similar security procedure as with bed & breakfasts. Being located in a small town - and not on a major highway - we do not typically check-in transient guests 24/7. Therefore, our Front Desk closes at midnight and opens at 7:15. Staff is on premises and always accessible. I am not sure why this "locking" occurred apparently at 10:30 pm as you indicate, but this will be addressed with our staff so that midnight closure is maintained. It's quite possible that our staff needed to run a quick errand into town for breakfast supplies.

Thank you for recognizing the "safety" of our small town during late hours! That adds considerably to the pleasure of visiting Cedarville, Ohio! We do hope that your next stay is more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Hearthstone at least once a year over the last five or six years. Always clean, nice continental breakfast, and wonderful owners/managers. The Jacuzzi rooms are best, but the other rooms are nice, too. There's a wraparound porch with rocking chairs for guests, and the decor is Civil War and other local memorabilia, with Thomas Kinkade paintings everywhere. There's a gift shoppe in house, and a local coffee shop, Beans and Cream, just a short walk from the inn.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarville
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Springfield
247 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#1 of 14 in Springfield
332 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dayton Beavercreek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fairborn South
7.8 mi away
Ramada Xenia
Ramada Xenia
#2 of 5 in Xenia
514 reviews
13.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton Beavercreek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn & Suites

Address: 10 S Main St, Cedarville, OH 45314
Location: United States > Ohio > Cedarville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarville
Price Range: $142 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hearthstone Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refreshingly different, independent hotel. Outstanding in value, cleanliness, and relaxation. No roaming gnomes or fancy TV commercials - you'll just keep coming back! Experience the WOW! Of Hearthstone Inn & Suites! TOP-RATED by TripAdvisor, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hearthstone Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Inn & Suites Cedarville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing