We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarville
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Refreshed”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I haven't stayed here for about a year. There have been several small touches done that keep it looking and feeling fresh. The staff was amazing as always. I look forward to my next stay there.
It is very convenient to downtown coffee shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghodecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    34
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
95
88
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Since this is literally the only hotel in the village of Cedarville, the convenience factor here cannot be overstated. There are more options in Xenia and Springfield, but nothing beats the convenience of being 5 minutes from campus.

Those visiting the university during the school year can get a special rate, making the standard room a very good value. The entrance and lobby are very charming, and breakfast was definitely above average. The free WiFi is great and the signal was good for us.

Overall we had a good stay, but there are several things that need improvement. The standard room was just that... standard. It looks exactly like a Holiday Inn Express or Comfort Inn with the same amenities. The carpet seemed a bit worn, and they could definitely use new bed sheets and comforters. The bath towels were very rough and smelled musty.

I didn't sleep great both nights because of noise from other guests. I could hear the man next door snoring throughout the whole night. During the day, his phone conversations were crystal clear as well.

The other weird thing is that they lock the front door at midnight (it was 10:30pm one night), so you have to walk along the driveway to the rear of the building. If it wasn't in the super safe community of Cedarville, this walk would make women feel uncomfortable in the dark of night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time so write your review of your stay at Hearthstone. We especially are appreciative when we are informed of any noise issues during a guest's actual stay so that we may address any remedies. Please mention this during your next visit so that we may take extra measures, within our control, to put you in a quiet room. We do know how disruptive that occasional, noisy neighbor can be! We have heard some rather loud snoring and voices in the past too! This may be particularly evident if in a "connector"-type room at many hotels. Be assured that our concern is a good restful stay for every guest! If our Front Desk is informed, we make every effort to contact the noisy room and "quiet things down".

We are currently in process of upgrading both linens, bedding, and towels. Finding the right source of quality guest room supplies is a challenge, but we are actively addressing the matter. Again, being notified during a guest stay of any disappointment with an amenity is important to us. Your other concerns will also be addressed

As we are a small, independent inn in a quiet village, we share a similar security procedure as with bed & breakfasts. Being located in a small town - and not on a major highway - we do not typically check-in transient guests 24/7. Therefore, our Front Desk closes at midnight and opens at 7:15. Staff is on premises and always accessible. I am not sure why this "locking" occurred apparently at 10:30 pm as you indicate, but this will be addressed with our staff so that midnight closure is maintained. It's quite possible that our staff needed to run a quick errand into town for breakfast supplies.

Thank you for recognizing the "safety" of our small town during late hours! That adds considerably to the pleasure of visiting Cedarville, Ohio! We do hope that your next stay is more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Perry, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Hearthstone at least once a year over the last five or six years. Always clean, nice continental breakfast, and wonderful owners/managers. The Jacuzzi rooms are best, but the other rooms are nice, too. There's a wraparound porch with rocking chairs for guests, and the decor is Civil War and other local memorabilia, with Thomas Kinkade paintings everywhere. There's a gift shoppe in house, and a local coffee shop, Beans and Cream, just a short walk from the inn.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This small hotel is right on the longest bike trail in the U.S.! But that's not it's best feature. The folks who work there are. Everyone was helpful, friendly, and accommodating right from the very first phone call. Building on that, the hotel was lovely. What you see on their website are undoctored photos of the interior. Tastefully done and comfortable. Our room was elegantly decorated and clean. We had a king bed and it was almost as comfy as our bed back home. For once on an out-of-town trip with my hubby I slept well! We were there for three nights and didn't have any problems with noise from our neighbors. I hope they can say the same about us. I will admit the floor creaked in spots in our second floor room and in some places in the second floor hallway. Not sure what they could do about that, though. The continental breakfast was cereal, English muffins, bagels, sausage biscuits, hard boiled eggs, muffins, danishes, yogurts, juices, milk, teas, and coffee. Getting in to and out of the inn was easy. Fortunately, we had our own tour guide in our daughter who lives in Cedarville. We could've stayed in a less expensive place in Xenia, but this was the right choice for us. Nay, it was an most excellent adventure!

Room Tip: First floor hallway didn't squeak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so very much for your thoughtful and gracious review of our country inn! We strive to provide our guests with a comfortable and memorable stay, whether they are "passing through" on a local college visit, antiquing in the area, visiting the Historic Clifton Mill, enjoying our adjacent paved bike trail system, or hiking the nearby parks! For sure, we will be looking into those evasive "squeaky floors" and trying to address the matter. Hearthstone is indeed a one-of-a-kind place where we may not be able to compete on "price"...but we sure do intend to compete on "nice"! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Appropriately priced, very clean, tastefully decorated. We truly enjoyed our stay. Loved the Bath and Body Works products of shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Breakfast was adequate with bagels, English muffins, fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries,microwavable sausage biscuits, variety of cereals, tea, juice, and great coffee.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dix7616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Certainly we delight when our guests are pleased with our interior decor! We have sought to create a relaxing environment at Hearthstone Inn with a blend of Queen Anne, country, historic, rustic, and "Thomas Kinkade"-esque styles. Your comments are deeply appreciated and we do hope to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Needing just a quiet weekend getaway from Dayton, my spouse and I decided to give the Hearthstone a try. It seemed very quaint and exactly what we were looking for on the website. We were not disappointed one bit! Actually, it was alot better than we had expected! Stuart the owner, made us feel right at home instantly, and he really went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect. Our room was extremely clean, cozy, comfortable and it made for the most perfect night! Breakfast was delicious and we both felt like it was worth every penny. We are both going to make this a tradition and we can't wait to come back! Thank you Stuart! We're also going to tell all of our friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, Owner at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you so very much for the kind review! During the warm months it gets even better at Hearthstone Inn with the adjacent Bike Trail and our convenient bicycle rentals! Especially with a bicycle-built-for-two! Do tell your friends or your small social/church group or club. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed for the first time on a Thursday night. Visiting our son at Cedarville University. Stayed in a Jacuzzi suite. Very nice; very clean. Separate living room with TV, sink, fridge. Also a separate make-up vanity area. King sized bed in bedroom along with TV. Everything was very nice; modern; up-to-date. Really enjoyed 2-person Jacuzzi. Only negative: Back stairs have fire doors with signs that say "Fire Door Keep Closed". Of course they were blocked open. This is a common thing I've seen @ other hotels. Proprietors don't seem to understand the safety implications. I closed the one on my floor which was just outside our room. I did mention it to the employee on duty in the morning. He said I was the first person to EVER mention it

Room Tip: You get a discount if you are visiting the university.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to mention the open fire door. In fact, this is the first time a guest has ever mentioned it! We routinely keep the door closed except for when guests are going in and out during breakfast, as a convenience for them. Also, housekeepers go in and out during housekeeping hours as they often carry supplies. We do apologize for the door being open and will endeavor to monitor it's proper closure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarville
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#1 of 14 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dayton Beavercreek
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fairborn South
10.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Ramada Xenia
Ramada Xenia
#2 of 5 in Xenia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn & Suites

Property: Hearthstone Inn & Suites
Address: 10 S Main St, Cedarville, OH 45314-9760
Location: United States > Ohio > Cedarville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hearthstone Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refreshingly different, independent hotel. Outstanding in value, cleanliness, and relaxation. No roaming gnomes or fancy TV commercials - you'll just keep coming back! Experience the WOW! Of Hearthstone Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hearthstone Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Inn & Suites Cedarville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing