We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gracious oasis in a small town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Hearthstone at least once a year over the last five or six years. Always clean, nice continental breakfast, and wonderful owners/managers. The Jacuzzi rooms are best, but the other rooms are nice, too. There's a wraparound porch with rocking chairs for guests, and the decor is Civil War and other local memorabilia, with Thomas Kinkade paintings everywhere. There's a gift shoppe in house, and a local coffee shop, Beans and Cream, just a short walk from the inn.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 296 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

This small hotel is right on the longest bike trail in the U.S.! But that's not it's best feature. The folks who work there are. Everyone was helpful, friendly, and accommodating right from the very first phone call. Building on that, the hotel was lovely. What you see on their website are undoctored photos of the interior. Tastefully done and comfortable. Our room was elegantly decorated and clean. We had a king bed and it was almost as comfy as our bed back home. For once on an out-of-town trip with my hubby I slept well! We were there for three nights and didn't have any problems with noise from our neighbors. I hope they can say the same about us. I will admit the floor creaked in spots in our second floor room and in some places in the second floor hallway. Not sure what they could do about that, though. The continental breakfast was cereal, English muffins, bagels, sausage biscuits, hard boiled eggs, muffins, danishes, yogurts, juices, milk, teas, and coffee. Getting in to and out of the inn was easy. Fortunately, we had our own tour guide in our daughter who lives in Cedarville. We could've stayed in a less expensive place in Xenia, but this was the right choice for us. Nay, it was an most excellent adventure!

Room Tip: First floor hallway didn't squeak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you so very much for your thoughtful and gracious review of our country inn! We strive to provide our guests with a comfortable and memorable stay, whether they are "passing through" on a local college visit, antiquing in the area, visiting the Historic Clifton Mill, enjoying our adjacent paved bike trail system, or hiking the nearby parks! For sure, we will be looking into those evasive "squeaky floors" and trying to address the matter. Hearthstone is indeed a one-of-a-kind place where we may not be able to compete on "price"...but we sure do intend to compete on "nice"! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Appropriately priced, very clean, tastefully decorated. We truly enjoyed our stay. Loved the Bath and Body Works products of shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Breakfast was adequate with bagels, English muffins, fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries,microwavable sausage biscuits, variety of cereals, tea, juice, and great coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dix7616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Certainly we delight when our guests are pleased with our interior decor! We have sought to create a relaxing environment at Hearthstone Inn with a blend of Queen Anne, country, historic, rustic, and "Thomas Kinkade"-esque styles. Your comments are deeply appreciated and we do hope to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Needing just a quiet weekend getaway from Dayton, my spouse and I decided to give the Hearthstone a try. It seemed very quaint and exactly what we were looking for on the website. We were not disappointed one bit! Actually, it was alot better than we had expected! Stuart the owner, made us feel right at home instantly, and he really went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect. Our room was extremely clean, cozy, comfortable and it made for the most perfect night! Breakfast was delicious and we both felt like it was worth every penny. We are both going to make this a tradition and we can't wait to come back! Thank you Stuart! We're also going to tell all of our friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, Owner at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you so very much for the kind review! During the warm months it gets even better at Hearthstone Inn with the adjacent Bike Trail and our convenient bicycle rentals! Especially with a bicycle-built-for-two! Do tell your friends or your small social/church group or club. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed for the first time on a Thursday night. Visiting our son at Cedarville University. Stayed in a Jacuzzi suite. Very nice; very clean. Separate living room with TV, sink, fridge. Also a separate make-up vanity area. King sized bed in bedroom along with TV. Everything was very nice; modern; up-to-date. Really enjoyed 2-person Jacuzzi. Only negative: Back stairs have fire doors with signs that say "Fire Door Keep Closed". Of course they were blocked open. This is a common thing I've seen @ other hotels. Proprietors don't seem to understand the safety implications. I closed the one on my floor which was just outside our room. I did mention it to the employee on duty in the morning. He said I was the first person to EVER mention it

Room Tip: You get a discount if you are visiting the university.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HearthstoneInn, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to mention the open fire door. In fact, this is the first time a guest has ever mentioned it! We routinely keep the door closed except for when guests are going in and out during breakfast, as a convenience for them. Also, housekeepers go in and out during housekeeping hours as they often carry supplies. We do apologize for the door being open and will endeavor to monitor it's proper closure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband & I wanted to do something small town type before Christmas & went to Waynesville for shopping at antique & craft stores. We didn't see much in that area hotel-like to stay in, so we found this & decided to try it out. We attended a musical "The Gift of the Magi" at the Cedarville Opera House, only about one block away (also very good). We loved the fact the inn is decorated with icicle lights & looks very festive outside. Inside the lobby had a beautiful large Christmas tree & a nice fireplace that we enjoyed sitting near. Also, there were beautiful display cases with Civil War relics displayed on the main level & 2nd floor. We were very confortable in our room which was very clean & neat. (I normally instantly remove the bedspread from the bed at most establishments & am unconfortable walking bare foot or in socks on the floors.....so I felt good about it, because I wasn't concerned about either.)
We found everyone very friendly (staff & owner) & very helpful in giving additional information (even print-outs) we needed in regards to places to eat. (which there isn't much within Cedarville, but you wouldn't starve there either)
Clifton Mill is not far away, so we enjoyed the beautiful lights of the mill & covered bridge & such one evening as well.
We both really enjoyed out stay & plan to stay here again when we want a little weekend get-away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethT798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed at the Hearthstone for 2 nights while attending a Cedarville University Event. Staff was pleasant, room was clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat when attending Cedarville Events. The morning breakfast had a nice selection as well although they don't start breakfast until 8:00am so if you have an early morning meeting you may not be able to enjoy. They offer free wireless but the signal during my stay was weak and difficult to connect to. All in all i would stay again, when visiting Cedarville.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the back door on the lower level as it will be close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upontheridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarville
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#1 of 14 in Springfield
352 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Springfield
253 reviews
12 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fairborn Wright Patterson AFB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Courtyard Springfield Downtown
13.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dayton Beavercreek
13.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton Beavercreek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn & Suites

Address: 10 S Main St, Cedarville, OH 45314-9760
Location: United States > Ohio > Cedarville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarville
Price Range: $139 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hearthstone Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refreshingly different, independent hotel. Outstanding in value, cleanliness, and relaxation. No roaming gnomes or fancy TV commercials - you'll just keep coming back! Experience the WOW! Of Hearthstone Inn & Suites! TOP-RATED by TripAdvisor, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hearthstone Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Inn & Suites Cedarville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing