We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McKinley Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay. I loved parking in the garage and walking over in the attachment without having to walk the street and sidewalks. Very nice Gentleman (Collins) at front desk. Sorry about the pizza Collins (should have offered you a piece) Hallway to Room a little musty. The room was very lovely, nice bed, Had a lovely swim in the pool! Room Service Breakfast very satisfying. Didn't appreciate housecleaner banging on doors yelling housekeeper or something like that and then when i was leaving she asked what room i left. (Not nice) Over all good relaxing stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    88
    74
    61
    27
See reviews for
74
76
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed there through Priceline.com which billed this dump as a 3 star hotel. What a crock!
The carpet is so filthy no only in the room but throughout the entire dump.
There is never a manager there when you need one and when there is they are nasty and not willing to make thing right.
The toilet ran and flushed all night, the shower almost had no pressure and it smelled like a locker room. I would never stay there or use Priceline for Canton again.
At best I would rate this as a 2 star.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canton hotels

South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

If you are ever stating in Canton, Ohio I have to recommend the McKinley Grand Hotel. Reasonably priced downtown hotel located within walking distance to popular Canton land marks such as, the Salvation Army, the City Union Mission and the bus terminal. If you are lucky enough to check in before two thirty in the afternoon, you can catch the sun just as it's setting over the rail road yards and elaborately painted walls of the abandoned steel mills. Overall a great hotel that you shouldn't leave after dark unless you need to score some crack. If you do need crack, bonus! Also love the three complementary rolls of toilet paper

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittenrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

We went to Canton, Ohio (on a Thursday) to visit the First Ladies Museum which is across the street from this downtown hotel. It was very clean with comfortable beds and a warm, friendly staff. There are a few curious references to this as "historic" which it is not. The history can be found in a number of interesting photos on the lobby walls concerning President McKinley along with interesting historic tid-bits about the McKinleys. We had a very good breakfast in their dining room the next morning and visited the vintage car display in the basement of the hotel which is not a museum but instead a classic car sales center. In effect this was a museum with price tags and was delightful as well as free. Parking across the street is optionally in a city garage for $8 or take your chances somewhere on the street. Downtown Canton was never loaded with people (see the malls just to the north for all all the traffic! The McKinley house across the street is spectacular for history buffs, the house was meticulously restored and highly recommended. The "Grand" hotel seems a little less than GRAND but in all important respects was comfortable and we would return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

After reading previous reviews I was ready for the letdown of this hotel our group had booked. This is my first review and I felt compelled to tell my experience. The lobby was elegant and impressive yet comfortable to sit and have conversations. I was very concerned at first when our assigned room was next to the humming ice and soft drink machine. When we entered our sixth floor room we did not hear any outside sounds. The room was quiet, very nicely appointed, roomy, and clean with a comfortable bed. The swimming pool did have some spots on the bottom but it seemed to be from a reaction of stainless steel to the water. The pool was very clean and the water clear. The staff was courteous and helpful. Garage parking was $8 but that is to be expected for a downtown location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila2353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Place was good for us--family with kids. Restaurant was fine--although slow on a Sunday night. Room was good - nothing special, but clean and comfortable. Hotel has probably seen better days (as has downtown Canton), but was basically well-maintained. Parking across the street for $8 seems like it should be included. Pool was good for family, as was work out area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Im_with_Bobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed for a convention in July. I debated staying here where the event was taking place or finding a Marriott I could drive to in order to use points. Chose this option because it was a $99 rate with buffet breakfast included, and because I saw some fantastic reviews on TripAdvisor. The fantastic reviews now baffle me.

The service is simply outstanding. The hotel was understaffed, management's fault, but the staff that was there was bending over backwards (at least that's what I observed). With a hotel full of people some people will never be satisfied and will all have differing opinions. But as a frequent traveler I can recognize and appreciate when someone's trying to make things right. Shame on management for not properly staffing, but I have to give kudos to the staff that was there.

My issues come in with the hotel itself. Someone else said the lobby was the only thing grand about it and I'd have to agree. And I wouldn't even really call the lobby grand. It is an attractive lobby and to me decieves you into thinking the rest of the hotel will look the same. The rooms have very old furniture in them with the big boxy televisions. I don't think the furniture has seen an upgrade in some time. I do agree that the beds are comfortable. The carpet is thin and worn. I plan conventions for a living and typically look at 25-30 hotels in a day when I review a city maybe 3-6 times a year a year. Just to put it into perspective I'd say it's slightly below a Holiday Inn with an upgraded lobby (nothing against that brand; just a comparision point).

I left a food wrapper in the bathroom trash can overnight and in the morning it was swarming of ants. When the maid came she threw out the wrapper but did nothing about the ants so they were still swarming the trashcan when I came in that evening. I sat the can out in the hallway before going to bed. Just a note that if you do stay here don't leave any type of food in your room. Sure this could happen anywhere but have never had it happen before (even in a Holiday Inn!)

I won't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EventPlanner_7186700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canton hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Canton South
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Canton
Hyatt Place Canton
#3 of 18 in Canton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton
5.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Canton
5.0 mi away
Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Property: McKinley Grand Hotel
Address: 320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
McKinley Grand Hotel Canton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing