We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
McKinley Grand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Canton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alright stay”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a room through Hotwire and ended up with this hotel. We first saw the hotel website and it looked to be a great hotel considering it was rated 4 stars. The lobby was beautiful with the memorabilia from President Mckinley. Bar area was very outdated, needs more tvs if you are going to call it a sports bar. The elevators were super worn and old. On the 6th floor of the hotel, it had very old wallpaper & a dungy look. We saw trash in the hall that sat there for days. The room was alright. Had a problem with the plumbing, while taking a shower it took forever for the water to go down the tub, same thing with the sink. Bathroom shower looked dirty too. Also there was not a curtain in the room so the sunlight woke me up at 7am every morning. Pool was gross. Looks like it was never scrubbed tons of mold. We Were really looking forward to going into the Jacuzzi but the hotel was filled it with plants instead. But by seeing how they take care of the pool, I'm glad that they didn't have a Jacuzzi. We asked to see the banquet rooms, but no one could help us. Don't stay here if you are looking for a nice hotel. Not worth it. Plus you have to pay to park at the hotel. Super tacky. Dirty too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Guest Relations Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the McKinley Grand. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We value each and every guest and strive to meet the standards that you expect. I hope that you will consider staying with us again and allow us to meet these standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    77
    66
    31
See reviews for
81
80
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night for a friend's wedding. Yes, the hotel is a little dated (carpeting, wallpaper, furniture) but other than that it was not that bad. For $99 a night I thought the rate was more than fair. There might be better options around Canton but this is by no means the worst option. Bathrooms in rooms also appear to be fairly new. Parking is free in rooms across the street which is definitely a plus nowadays.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank agxb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Guest Relations Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the McKinley Grand. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as our quest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Check in went fine but from then on we were disappointed in the hotel for the price paid. As many others have said, the place is badly in need of updating. Our room was not as clean as it should be. The carpet was stained and badly rippled from being loose and the '80s TV remote did not work. For all future travelers a word of advice, please check out other places first.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2strokefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, General Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the McKinley Grand. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We value each and every guest and strive to meet the standards that you have come to expect. I hope that you will consider staying with us again and allow us another opportunity to meet these standards.

Regards,
Guest Services
McKinley Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canton hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 3 years for an expo in the area. We have previously enjoyed our stays but this year we were disappointed. Only 2 towels were given per room. We asked for an additional towel (2 adults and a child in our room). Front desk wasn't happy with request, were told we could only have one which was fine we only asked for one. Towel we received was fraying with holes in it. No towels provided at the pool which is an issue when they won't even give you enough towels to shower with. Pool area was dirty - empty water bottles and cups floating, trash strewn about. No coffee available unless the bar/restaurant is open and they are only open in am for breakfast and after 4:00 pm. Room service dishes left in hallway remained there the entire weekend. Waited an hour for our food in dining room although waitress was very friendly. Candy wrapper in drawer, shower curtain dirty, fingerprints on mirror. We love the location of this hotel but will think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k_ny_c25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, General Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize that your stay was not as pleasurable as years past. We were able to put an end to the pool party and clean up their mess, however, I’m sorry that incident affected your stay. Cleanliness is very important to us, so thank you for mentioning the items that you did, they will be addressed. We hope to see you again and provide a more memorable experience.

Regards,
Guest Services
McKinley Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We were here for a tough wrestling tournament and wanted a nice place to relax in and were completed phased with the fact that there was no hot tub (filled with dirt and plants) the pool was cold and there was poor service due to the fact that the front desk claimed they were on limited supply of towels and how they did not know how to fix a vending machine. The rooms were ok, but there was a distinct smell of moth balls and old vaccum dust. The front desk was just as bad as there was a man who had a balding a goatee and the worse version of a clip on tie that constantly told us there were no towels available when another guy would literally stop what he was doing and help us out. The guy with the clip on tie disrespected us with lies about the towels when other staff workers were constantly delivering towels to other guests. I was shocked when I had to constantly change my hotel key and how the ice machine and soda machine didn't work on the third floor and how I constantly went to different floors for ice and drinks. The towels were stained with coffee and what look like it could've been blood or rusty water. Two of our wrestlers stayed in a room where their shower would not drain. Another thing is a customer orders room service leaves it out of the room and has been sitting out of the room for days.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night for a wedding in Canton, OH. There was something going on at the Football Hall of Fame so the hotels were very busy that weekend. I found this hotel priced well for around a $100 a night with taxes. The hotel is located in downtown Canton with a garage right across the street with a skywalk directly into the hotel. The lobby is really nice with an impressive historical feel. The rooms were average and the bed was comfortable. Only downside we saw was the carpet in the room had a few minor stains and could have used a cleaning; we'd stay here again if in Canton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had stayed at the McKinley Grand on New Years eve night. We got the romantic package. We were told by the front desk that our strawberries and champagne would be delivered in 30 minutes, after waiting over an hour we called to check and were told by the girl she was so busy that she just didn't have time to deliver it to us. We waited a total of over two hours for this delivery. At this point we were starving and headed to dinner. We stopped at the front desk to tell them our toilet wasn't working and our heat didn't work. He proceeded to show us a description of a heat thermometer that was on the wall to adjust the heat, but he didn't seem too concerned. We never did get anyone to fix the toilet. When we showed up for dinner there was no one there to greet us. I had gone to grab menus and another couple that came in thought I worked there because they didn't know what to do either...very awkward. There was no ambiance at all. We ordered the spinach dip and it was lukewarm. We asked the front desk if they had a shuttle and he said" I don't think I will have them run it tonight but its just a 4 block walk to anywhere you need to go..it was 15 degrees outside. We never got to use our food cards for dinner because we were so turned off by the lukewarm reception! To top everything off when we got to our complimentary breakfast in the morning we were told after we ate that it doesn't include anything "Hot" as complimentary. Basically only cereal is free. Happy new year to us! So disappointing! We love downtown but will probably never stay at the McKinley Grand again:(

Room Tip: If you get a room, make sure the toilet works and there is heat! 8th floor is not suggested!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CESJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canton hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Canton South
5.0 mi away
Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Canton
Red Roof Inn - Canton
#8 of 18 in Canton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Canton
Hyatt Place Canton
#3 of 18 in Canton
361 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Hall of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Property: McKinley Grand Hotel
Address: 320 Market Ave S, Canton, OH 44702-2108
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
McKinley Grand Hotel Canton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing