We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible computer center! Mold in the rooms.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McKinley Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Canton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible computer center! Mold in the rooms.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Don't even bother with the so called "business center". 15 year old computers. 2 - 3 minutes to load a website. Unfortunately my job makes me stay there every so often, and I have noticed severe allergies every time. I believe there is mold in the A/C units on the wall, so when you turn it on it spreads mold all over the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coddie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    81
    65
    58
    25
See reviews for
64
72
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because of a good rate on Hotwire. The hotel is right in downtown Canton, which isn't that great. We checked in, went to the room and everything seemed fine. We went to dinner and returned to find that half of the room had no electricity. After the maintenance man tried to get the power on and couldn't, we moved to the room next door. This hotel was probably grand at some point. The room felt tired and dated. The bed was lumpy. The carpet could use a good cleaning. We could hear everyone out in the hall. Around 3 AM, there were young adults running up and down the hall yelling, laughing and banging on doors. This went on for quite awhile until I opened the door and asked them to quit banging on the doors. The bathroom was clean. Ice maker on our floor was inoperable. The lighting in the room was minimal. We chose to park on the street rather than pay $6.75 per day to park in the garage. TV had very few channels. Guess this hotel is centrally located. Wouldn't stay here again without getting a great rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRMEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I'd agree with a previous reviewer who said that every review of this hotel on this site is true--the laudatory and the negative both. The McKinley Grand appears to be a once-great hotel in a struggling city. Rooms were clean and relatively plush. The bathrooms were clean and updated--new tile, nicely laid marble floors. But the carpet in the rooms probably needs replacement and the carpet in the hallways shows even clearer signs of wear. The pool was clean, but the pool room was cold and the water frigid. The hot tub has been turned into a planter--because of the cost of repairs?

But the staff was warm and thoughtful, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms spotless. In the end, I'm glad we spent the night at the McKinley Grand. If Canton's economy were better, I suspect this hotel's fortunes would reflect it by a return to real elegance. Yet there is something to be said for a once-prosperous hotel working to retain a portion of its grandeur. Clearly, the McKinley Grand hasn't given up hope on the future, and I commend it to those seeking a nice hotel with far more character than the average Marriott Courtyard or Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel rooms are in desperate need of a major upgrade. They are poorly lit and well used. If you forget to set your alarm do t worry the housekeepers telling to each other from opposite ends of the hall will definitely get u up. Great new TVs in room with very limited channels an for a hotel that markets around the hall of they don't even have the NFL network. Very very sad

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Protraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canton hotels

Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the McKinley Grand Hotel and each time has been great. The first two times were in the summer and they were much busier but we wanted to go to the Cuyahoga National Park and see the leaves in color and we were not disappointed. The first night our room was on the 5th floor right beside the elevator and we could hear it going up and down most of the night~it stopped from about midnight but started up again about 6:00 the next morning. We asked the clerk at the desk if she could move us and without hesitation she moved us to a larger and better corner room on the 4th floor where we couldn't hear anything. As several people have mentioned the food is quite good there at the restaurant and the portions are more than you can eat!! The first night I had the steak and my fiance' had the pasta and both were excellent. The second night we tried to order a pizza from a local place but they wouldn't deliver to the hotel so we ended up getting personal pizzas and ultimate nachos from the restaurant and again they were great! The waitresses we had both morning for our breakfast were very friendly and very helpful in telling us different things to do in the area. We will be back again next year:)

Room Tip: The corner rooms are larger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigercar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are ever in Canton, OH and need a wonderful place to stay for a resonable cost, the McKinley Grand is the place for you. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. The staff treat you like you are at five star hotel and the area the hotel is located in is just blocks from download Canton. The food you order in the restaurant fills you and is high quality. Any time I'm in the area I'll be sure and stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best. Top floor is quiet and all the rooms are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After reading the posted reviews, I was very leery of staying at this hotel. However, much to my surprise, the hotel was very nice. It was very nicely decorated in the lobby and first floor. My room was on the 3rd floor and was very large and roomy and clean. The linens were newer and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The soaps, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc. was high quality. The AC and heat both worked, and there was plenty of hot water and water pressure. I did not experience any of the things that some other reviewers had said. I ate in the restaurant, and the food was delicious. Huge portions and very reasonably priced. Service in restaurant was excellent. Check in and check out was quick and easy. There were options for parking, and the clerk was quick to explain each. I parked on the side street for free or could have parked in the parking garage for $6.75 or $8.00. The only negative thing I have to say is that the smoking area is at the main entrance to the lobby, so I had to walk through about 20 people standing outside smoking when I arrived. This was not a good first impression. I definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on the third room and close to the elevator. Hall noise and other room noise was a little bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Canton South
4.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Canton
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Canton
Hyatt Place Canton
#2 of 18 in Canton
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
4.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Canton
5.1 mi away
Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Property: McKinley Grand Hotel
Address: 320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
McKinley Grand Hotel Canton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing