We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than enough - portions were huge”
Review of El Campesino

El Campesino
Ranked #39 of 335 Restaurants in Canton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
York, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More than enough - portions were huge”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Most patrons were regulars, and knew the staff by name. The atmosphere was simple and sort of uncomfortable, but the food was prepared fast, fresh, and abundantly!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ablkeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Loved it! Very good food and service!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We went by the TripAdvisor reviews and tried this place. It is in a non-descript neighborhood and in a plain building but we didn't let that stop us.

We went in and were pleasantly greeted. Fast, attentive service. Delicious, fresh food.

Great prices. Loved the chips with salsa. No skimping here. Plenty of traditional combo options to choose from. Nothing out of the ordinary but then again, I prefer not to be adventurous when it comes to Mexican food. I like traditional dishes and they definitely exceed in that area!

Will defiitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always Great!!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have visited El Campesino several times and it is our favorite Mexican restaurant in town! They have the best chips and salsa and the service is always commendable. They are really quick and the food is always great! It is definitely a family friendly environment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAdvisor43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic mexican cusine”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Must get the cheese dip! Very fast service always! Eat here at least once a month or so. Love the chips salsa and steak fajitas quesadilla.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubysmom227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast service, good food, and unbeatable value.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I go here atleast once a month. The service is always fast, even when they are packed. The food is always good mexican the its supposed to be. Beer is always cold served with frosted glass. The staff is always as accommodating as they can be. If like authentic mexican u can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodFellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Campesino also viewed

 

Been to El Campesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing