We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A SUPER B & B!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hambleton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hambleton House
Ranked #1 of 1 Canton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A SUPER B & B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently spent 4 days/nights in Canton for a family birthday. Since all the hotels were booked because of the Pro Football HOF festivities, our daughter suggested the Hambleton House, after their recent stay.

I made the reservation via email with Kathy (innskeeper). It was very reasonably priced and she offered a discount since we were staying > 3 nights. We were a little late arriving due to airline delays but Kathy and Rnady met us when we finally got there. They showed us the house, the gardens, and our room. The house is spectacularly renovated with all the modern day conveniences while retaining the old world flavor of the original house. The food was excellent - I especially liked the chocolate chip cookies available 24/7!

Kathy was the ultimate host, waiting on us hand and foot. She told us 'we were on vacation and it was her job'. We had a grand time chatting with her about families, the house, our shared military experiences, etc. We felt like this was a 'home away from home'.

We had a GREAT time at the Hambleton House and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone spending time in the HOF city.

Room Tip: There are different rooms with different features. Ask Kathy when making your reservations to make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandymanTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyHex, Owner at Hambleton House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Wow, I am humbled! Thank you for your kind words and recommendations. I have said it before, but I truly think we have the best guests on the planet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
42
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I were visiting relatives in Canton. We grew up in the area and did not want to stay off Rt 77 near the big chain hotels. This was such a find. We always try to stay in B&B's and this was one of our favorites. Kathy and her husband have lovingly restored this home. Their love of people is evident as well. Our special dietary needs were handled gracefully and deliciously. Our king bed was very comfortable. We had wine in the calming and beautiful gardens each evening. Truly a treasure and looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Mark's Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaninne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyHex, Owner at Hambleton House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed our gardens! We are certainly seeing an increasing number of guests with food allergies.You can count on us to do our best to prepare breakfasts that accomodate food needs. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Hambleton House B&B. We are world travelers and almost always stay at B&Bs and this is one of the nicest. Canton isn't a town I'd recommend to visit, but if you have business there, you can pamper yourself at Hambleton. The owners (a retired couple) truly love the B&B business and it shows. Kathy is a fantastic cook. She's extremely welcoming. I wasn't feeling so well when we visited so spent a day just reading and writing in the room and the hosts didn't make us feel like we were invading their space.

The house is fabulously decorated with antiques and a smart mix of new. Nothing was spared with accommodations--the beds & mattresses & linens are top shelf.

They have a decent piano that's in tune (a rare event on the road) and, they welcome guests to play it.

Nice gardens out back. Although on a busy intersection, the back yard is quiet and private. The high-rent district is a nice walk down the road, and worth the walk if you like to look at fancy houses.

If you're in Canton, don't miss this gem. Also, the house is animal free for those with allergies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyHex, Owner at Hambleton House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Canton is truly a great place to visit. I am sorry that you didn't get to enjoy the city during your stay. Thank you for your detailed review, glad that you had a chance to play the piano. Here's hoping that you will give Canton a 2nd chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benediktbeuern, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although a few months ago, we found our stay at this bed and breakfast to be our Best B&B experience. Kathy has the ability to make every guest feel welcome, and accommodated our special breakfast request daily. The raspberry jam was delicious and the daily fresh fruit a real treat. Actually, It felt like a small warm boutique hotel in the middle of Canton, instead of someone's house. The amount of detail and care that went into the renovation is superb.

If staying in one of the front rooms, there is a bit of noise coming from the main street, but should not disturb sleep at night. If not staying on the large suite on the top floor, expect to hear footsteps from the guests above (as this really is a home, instead of a hotel). For us the guests kept some odd hours (very late and very early) - we probably should have mentioned something to Kathy, as I am sure that she would have politely mentioned something to the other guests. Bed was large enough, towels soft and plenty, and the sitting area in Oscar's room is very comfortable. Homemade cookies were also a treat, and it was no trouble to ask for a glass of milk in the evening to accompany them.

Hoping to still get a few of Kathy's book recommendations too. We will be back again, and have recommended this already to others visiting Canton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieReiselust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyHex, Owner at Hambleton House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so glad that you are planning to return, we really enjoyed hosting you. I appreciate you mentioning the 3rd floor noise. This is a reminder to caution guests about our "quiet hours."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our second time visiting Kathy and Randy's incredible bed and breakfast. When we found out we would be visiting the area again this summer, we didn't think twice and were keeping our fingers crossed there would be availability. Our family absolutely loves staying here! Inviting, comfortable, accommodating, detailed, genuine, caring, beautiful. Those are just a few words to describe the experience you'll have.

From the moment you arrive, you're treated like a special friend. Add that to the wonderful breakfasts, the homemade afternoon treats, and the lovely accommodations you'll soon realize that there is "none better".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyHex, Owner at Hambleton House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It's always so special to have guests return and stay with us again! Thanks for your encouraging words. Your family is special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The reason for our visit was a trip down memory lane for Mom. Located right off the highway, easy access for sightseeing. Randy greeted us warmly & carried our luggage upstairs to the 3rd floor 2 bedroom suite. Kathy met up with us later & instantly made us feel at home. Kathy's words "we are here to serve you". That they did. And we let them :) So attentive to our needs without invading our space. So gracious. There home should be in Southern Living Magazine. Kathy has found her "sweet spot". Rooms were gorgeous & spotless. Comfy beds, amazing breakfasts, great coffee, yummy fresh baked cookies. The shower/bath area is small but functional. The amenities, lush gardens, singing birds made you forget about the traffic noise. I hope to return someday and stay in one of the other rooms. Such a blessing to us to find this gem!

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor face the road....one faces the backyard garden. 3rd floor bedroom w/2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quarterbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyH134, Manager at Hambleton House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind words! We love hosting guests and providing a "getaway" for them. I really do think that somehow the nicest folks in the world find their way to our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hambleton House and thee most enjoyable time. The house was period beautiful with an ambiance of...peacefulness and relaxation. Kathy couldn't have been any more accommodating to us. We had such a good time. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Corwin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyH134, Owner at Hambleton House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
"Peace and relaxation" is what we want to provide for our guests. Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canton hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Canton
Hyatt Place Canton
#3 of 18 in Canton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Canton South
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
McKinley Grand Hotel
McKinley Grand Hotel
#14 of 18 in Canton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambleton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambleton House

Property: Hambleton House
Address: 2716 Market Ave N, Canton, OH 44714-1715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hambleton House Bed & Breakfast combines warmth, beauty and hospitality in a unique setting. Close to the heart of downtown Canton, this winner of the 2007 Canton Preservation Award features 3 beautifully appointed guest rooms each with private baths on the second floor. Two bedrooms feature jetted tubs. The entire third floor of the home features a 2-bedroom suite (one room with king bed, other with 2 twin beds) with a living room and bath. A full breakfast is served every morning in the dining room. Fresh baked cookies or other sweet treats are featured each afternoon. Guests are invited to enjoy use of the living room, sun room and lovely backyard gardens. Check-in is 3 p.M. And check-out time is 11 a.M. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambleton House Canton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing