We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Unknown Gem in downtown Canton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canton Classic Car Museum

Canton Classic Car Museum
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ohio's nostalgia museum filled with cars from 1904-1981, and lots of memorabilia.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Unknown Gem in downtown Canton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is a little known step back into the good old days of unique cars, ad campaigns and other historic paraphenalia from the early years of Downtown Canton. Take the kids and show them things they will never see anywhere else.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ringerfamilyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A True Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We love this museum! We are locals and always tell people that it is a place they've got to go when they are in town (usually for the Pro Football Hall of Fame). Housed in a historic downtown car dealership just south of the old Lincoln Highway, they have some great cars on display as well as TONS of car and Canton memorabilia (our favorite part). Definitely worth the stop!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pb4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, OH
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection of cars & more in a local museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had about 2.5 hours between appointments, so I skipped lunch and went to the Canton Classic Car Museum. This is a place that is as much about local history as it is about the cars. I found the exhibits to be clean and well maintained. Plenty of toys, clothes and household furnishings that go well with the autos on display, taking you back to a time when those vehicles were the kings of the road. I was about half way through the museum when I realized that I only had about 1 hour left - so I picked up the pace a bit. You can be sure that the next time that I am in the area and I have a couple of hours I will revisit this gem of a time machine.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MagicmanOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
295 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“wonderful collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

An amazing collection of cars from many eras! There are so many cars and if you take your grandfather, he will love it too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
417 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Classic autos with a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This museum is not just about classic automoblies. The theme is how the asutos interact with life. Displayed among the vehicles are antique furniture, period memorabilia, mannequins with vintage clothing, toys, advertizing signs. Countless glass cases. All the walls are covered with paintings & photos. In/out door carpeting and colorful Persian rugs cover the floor.

A sample of the autos are:

1901 Oldsmobile Model 8 Runabout.
1937 Studebaker.
1929 Rolls-Royce.
1929 Kissel White Eagle.
1937 Packard.
1926 Ford Model T race car.
1914 Benham Six Roadster.
1922 Holmes Coupe.
1932 Chrysler.
1931 Marmon Coupe.
1916 Pierce-Arrow.
1919. McFarlar.

Over 45 vehicles are for viewing.

Most auto are in primen condition. I was told most vehiles will run. Vehicles are arranged sise by side. Plenty of lighting for photography.What surrounds the autos is just as interesting as the autos. The vintage clothing matches the time period of the vehicle.

No large crowds. Plenty of parking next to the museum, with a smaller lot across the street. Before visiting, I was under the impression all I would see would be autos. However, with all the surrounding items,,an unexpected atmophere is added that keeps a visitor interested.

The museum was once a dealership. When a visitor pulls into the parking lot, they maybe under the impression they may not see much, as the entrance doesn't look like much. Once they are through the door, they will find an unknown jewel of a museum.

Admission:
Adults-$7.50.
Seniors- 60 plus-$6.00.
Youth- 5-12- $5.00.
Children 4 & under- Free.
Group rates avialable upon request.

By going to the museum's first web site, a visitor can click onto a 15 % discount coupon.

Hours: 10:00 to 5:00.

A visit is highly recommended. A visitor won't be disappointed.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canton Classic Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing