We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone!”

McKinley Presidential Library & Museum
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The McKinley Presidential Library & Museum is a family friendly history and science Museum dedicated to the history of the 25th President, William McKinley and to the history of Stark County. The McKinley National Memorial is also on the grounds of the Museum.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great museum for families with children with varied interests. If you love history the galleries on the second floor are perfect. The recreated Main Street is really so much fun and gives kids and adults a real feel for the time period. The McKinley section is very interesting and has some nice artifacts from the couple and their time in the White House. The Discovery Museum has great displays of animatronic dinosaurs, fossils and other science related displays. Nice hands on exhibits. The Planetarium is a great show. Definitely a fun way for the family to spend the day. If you are history buffs and just want to learn more about President McKinley, You could accomplish it all in about 2 hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ily911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    108
    41
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, IL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Surprising and larger than expected”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Well, I was not expecting an animatronic dinosaur. But that's what they had in the science section of this museum. There are three parts to this large museum, or maybe four, depending on how you categorize them. The admission was $8, and it was definitely worth the price. First, we visited the science part. The exhibits are on the level of a toddler or young child. There are many live animals here, and they all have cute names. (The newts are Fig and Isaac.) My kids would have loved that when they were younger. Upstairs, there is a surprisingly large area that has all sorts of interactive science themed exhibits, including what is basically a theremin. My husband had way too much fun playing with all of them! Next, there is a section all about the history of the county. It includes steel and ball bearings. This part is thorough and well-done. There is a section on McKinley. He is also animatronic, and if you are expecting Disney quality, don't. But he and his wife move and talk to you when you enter the parlor. Honestly, he scared the daylights out of me when he started talking. Be forewarned! There are many keepsakes from this time. Since his house was a hospital and then destroyed, this is where all the memorabilia is. Lastly, there is a huge section that is Yesterday's Main Street (okay, I stole that title from our Chicago MSI, but that's what it it). This part has everything, we weren't expecting it to be so big or well-appointed. There's even the saloon !!! (Shocking, I know.) Our visit included a planetarium show, but we had to go to work and couldn't stay. If you live in the area and haven't visited, you owe it to yourself to check this out. If you are traveling, be sure to stop in and see this cool museum at the base of the McKinley monument. It is sure to have something to interest you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aviatrix2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
“Young or Old This place has it all”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great place to go and explore history, Everyone from young to old can find something to get excited about.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I just love this place”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been going since I was a kid and it gets better every year. It is not the kind of place you can expect to see new things every time you go, but it is fun to take the kids to explore and learn.

Helpful?
Thank SlRiv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A very nice place. Lots to see and do. Not only the Mckinley historical objects, but has the science center that is a great place for kids.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cowhide1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKinley Presidential Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to McKinley Presidential Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing