We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Quiet Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Quiet Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a very quiet hotel with STUNNING grounds and surrounding area. The pool was beautiful, the front desk was very nice and the guards at the gate are diligent.

Because of its storied past, the windows are a little small, but understandable. The rooms could use a refresh. I think it has been a while.

It was so peaceful that if quiet is important to you, this is a great hotel. I wish we could have used the spa. We were visiting friends who kept us hopping. We had a 2 bedroom suite, so it was very spacious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
19
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We lived in Canton 14 years ago when Glenmoor was converted from a seminary to a Country Club. It is an elegant setting among beautiful homes on the manicured golf course. The spa is excellent with massage, beauty salon, classes, machines, free weights, and tennis right on the premises. Food was well prepared. We came back to town for the first time and decided to stay here because we had great memories of how special it is. However, the rooms have not been updated. The furnishings are tired, the bed is WAY too soft. Plumbing barely works. For the price of the room and the located at Glenmoor Country Club, I expected it to be much more opulent. A disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cactusrose3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night for a quick weekend getaway. Due to the time of year, there were only a couple other rooms occupied. So the hotel was very quiet. The rooms as you see in the pictures are nice, but not modern or special. But they are very clean and well maintained. The spa was very nice to spend some time in relaxing in the sauna and jacuzzi. All the staff in the hotel, gym, and spa that we met were very friendly and helpful. However, the best feature for us was their restaurant, Black Heath. It was fantastic. One of the best fine dining experiences in a long time. Both the service and food were top notch. And who still serves sorbet before the main course anymore. A rare throwback to classic fine dining. So go for the dining even if you don't stay the night.

Room Tip: Skip the Jacuzzi Rooms. The tub is a little small for two adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayjay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia L, Manager at The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear rayjay80,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on our first class service and being able to offer unique experiences you will not find anywhere else in the area. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I just stayed overnight here with my husband for a night away from children and it was lovely. It is located in a beautiful setting with historic interest. Building was very unique and the hotel was nice. The rooms were clean with what looked like new paint and carpet. Very well kept up but not totally modern. I would definitely stay here again!! Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondeinwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia L, Manager at The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear blondeinwi99,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Please keep in mind that we have Kid’s Club, state licensed child care that you are able to take advantage of during your stay. Feel free to bring the kids next time for a family getaway. We have many events for kids that you can join in as well! I invite you to follow our blog to keep up to date with our events! http://glenmoorcc.wordpress.com/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We ladies came from across Ohio to have a relaxing and fun filled weekend away together reminiscing from our childhood and catching up on life. From the moment we entered the grounds we enjoyed the natural beauty that this gated community offered. As you drive up to the Scottish castle looking Bertran Inn at Glenmoor you travel back in time where service was king. The staff we met were not only extremely well trained and accommodating, but they were caring and well informed about all that the campus offered. You could just tell how they took pride in what they did. Yes, we immediately made reservations at the European Spa which by the way was the largest and finest spa experience one could imagine. At the outdoor pool we quickly located the upper lounge area that is reserved for adults. Enjoyed the landscape and the menu served from one of the three restaurants on campus. When you check in be sure to reserve a spot at the Black Heath Restaurant for at least one night of your stay. It is a perfect location for a truly gourmet experience... the food, the staff, the wine and the ambiance were perfect! Plan for a night cap at the bar.... Jessica mixes an amazing chocolate pretzel . The rooms are a little tired in design but they are clean, comfortable, large and have amazing toiletries. Be sure to locate the fully armored knight and take a peek inside what was once the seminary's chapel....for those who have toured Europe... it will bring back memories. We enjoyed lengthy walks through the gated community..... lovely in every way. Totally recommend and we will return!

Room Tip: Since all the rooms are the same price, request a superior corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor is a unique property in an exceptional setting. Do not expect a glitzy, slick boutique hotel. The facility has been wonderfully restored to maintain the integrity of the original structure while providing all creature comforts.
The staff we met were extremely hospitable, efficient and welcoming from the general manager who took time to share his experiences and details of the renovations, to a busy maintenance staff member who graciously retrieved a gold pendant from the bathroom drain early one morning. We had an amazing special anniversary dinner in the Black Heath, full of unexpected delights, co-ordinated by the manager of dining services and the chef. They jointly created an experience we'll never forget. This was truly a memorable stay, and one we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

As others have stated, the approach to the Glenmoor is breathtaking! The grounds are meticulously kept and are surrounded by an equally impressive golf course. Inside, we were greeted by a door man, then the front desk employee. Both were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was quite large -- we requested two queen beds. Yes, the appointments are a little dated, and the window coverings seem to be from the era of when this was a seminary or all boys school. Nonetheless, it was quite comfortable and had plenty of seating along with a nice flat screen tv (much to the liking of my husband and son). The bathroom was large and very clean with wonderful amenities. Very up to date with the details. We did not eat our meals there -- had reservations elsewhere -- but the menu looked delicious. Several dining areas -- all well appointed. A beautiful bar, as well. Upon returning from dinner, we asked the bartender for recommended desserts. We went with two choices and brought them to our room. Not disappointed at all. Overall, I would definitely stay there again! (My husband stayed there nine years ago with our eldest son, during the Pro Football Hall of Fame induction weekend. All the inductees and "big names" stayed ere, as well. Made such a huge impression, that he wanted to stay again for this trip. Glad we did!)

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are large and appointed the same. Just ask to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBAmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canton hotels
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Canton
Hyatt Place Canton
#3 of 18 in Canton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Canton South
2.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Canton
5.8 mi away
McKinley Grand Hotel
McKinley Grand Hotel
#15 of 18 in Canton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor

Property: The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor
Address: 4191 Glenmoor Rd NW, Canton, OH 44718-4077 (Formerly Glenmoor Country Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor...A destination unlike any other.One of North-East Ohio’s hidden treasures, and a classic, 1930-vintage Gothic-style building, the Bertram Inn at Glenmoor bears the aura of an upland Scottish castle set on rolling green hills. Nestled amidst a scenic Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the Bertram Inn at Glenmoor boasts a beautiful full European Spa and Salon, three unique dining rooms, a state of the art fitness center, eleven private meeting rooms, licensed childcare and limousine service. The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor in Canton Ohio is ideal for hosting business associates, as well as guests for weddings and special occasions or simply a weekend getaway, offering seventy-two luxuriously appointed overnight rooms in a variety of styles. No two rooms are decorated alike offering a unique variety unlike any other facility. No matter what level of accommodation, all rooms provide a comfortable haven at the end of the day.The Spa at Glenmoor is the perfect place to unwind, relax and escape everyday stresses. Refresh your mind and body with an array of services in an environment of luxury, privacy and comfort. Enjoy treatments ranging from traditional massages and body wraps to the exclusive Natura Bisse Facials.Be our Guest at The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoor Country Club Hotel Canton
Glenmoor Country Club Canton Ohio
Glenmoor Country Hotel
The Bertram Inn At Glenmoor Canton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing