We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, it's wonderful......but I wouldn't recommend the Timbers Restaurant!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had previously stayed at Maumee Bay in the winter time and loved it, but wanted to try something different for summer. The area is beautiful at Salt Fork and we were pleasantly surprised with the interior of the lodge. There's plenty of private places to relax with a view. The staff was plenty friendly although it was a busy weekend. Check-in took approximately 1/2 hour because of so many people and 2 staff personnel.

Our rooms were clean and spacious, we loved the patio area overlooking the pool. However, my husband and I both woke up with aching backs....the beds aren't overly comfortable. The indoor/outdoor pool was great and there's plenty of activities with cornhole, volleyball and gameroom.

Our biggest complaint was the restaurant. It was very much over-priced and the food was horrible. It's somewhat of a drive to go in town but after staying here, I would recommend bringing your own food or driving into town. There are several places to dine and shop in Cambridge.

But if you're looking for some family fun and have school aged children, I would definitely recommend this spot!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cndbrewcrew43302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 502 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

Pool is large and clean. Lodge is rustic and beautiful. Big plus was seeing deer outside your room at dusk and dawn - awsome!!! Free boat docking close to Lodge. Close to Cambridge that has alot of nice shops.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoftballSpectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The first thing you realize when you come into the Salt Fork State Park is that you have to drive another 7 miles to get to the hotel. There was a long line when we checked in during a hot August weekend which took about 30 minutes to check in. I asked for a quiet room and was given a room overlooking the woods. The other option is overlooking the pool which is only good if you have kids and are planning to spend your vacation in the pool with many screaming kids and families. This is definitely not the place for a couples getaway!

There was no shower curtain or soap in the bathroom so I had to find a housekeeper to get these items. The sink in the bathroom didn't drain well. There is a second sink in the bedroom totally out of place which is great for bumping into in the middle of the night, which unfortunately I did several times.

We took a walk down to the lake. It's time they update their maps since the ones they give out are copies of copies of copies. In fact, the hotel needs updating. The towels are frayed, the air conditioners are so loud you can hardly sleep, and the showerhead is like taking a shower with a waterpik.

We rented a boat one day which was ok but there were blades of grass growing in the bottom of the boat. The concessioner needs to better care for their equipment. We ended up eating outside of the park for the 2 nights we were there as there were just too many families to make this a relaxing weekend.

I think there are better state lodges around. Not my favorite.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilre12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

it is a GREAT family reunion location for 50 or more but expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart555_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We recently stayed at the lodge at Salt fork and enjoyed our visit. My family has been coming to Salt Fork for many years, and we have always stayed at the Lodge. We booked standard rooms, and they were pretty much clean. The bathrooms in both mine and my parent’s room could have been cleaned a little better though. The lodge is older so while they have done some updating (flat screens, new curtains, wall furnishings) everything else has stayed pretty much the same. The inside of the lodge is beautiful and rustic. They have a fireplace, a television and many chairs and couches to sit around and talk. We like staying up late reading or playing a game of cards on the second floor overlooking the outdoor pool.
Both the indoor and the outdoor pool are very nice. Every time we have used them they have been really clean. There is plenty of seating at the outdoor pool, and there are seats available at the indoor pool as well to lay your stuff on. You can order snack food from the front of the lodge restaurant and take it out to the pool with you. The food is good and it is reasonably priced. There is also a game room where they have games like ping-pong, pool tables, air-hockey, and pin-ball. They have tennis courts, basketball courts, golf, a swimming beach, and the stone house for outside activities. There are also various activities for children as well. This place is great for families.
We ate all of our meals at Timbers in the lodge, and we enjoyed our food. The food was moderately priced, and we even saved room for a banana fosters dessert. Although, the lodge was busy during our stay (there was a large conference), we did not have to wait to be seated nor did we wait long for our food. Breakfast was the same way, busy but we had no wait. The waitresses were friendly and attentive.
The surrounding area is beautiful; we see deer every time we visit. It is quite a trek though from the entrance to the actual lodge so if you plan on leaving, it’s a little bit of drive just to leave the state park. However, there are so many activities within the area that you can stay busy. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funinthesun037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I had such a great experience at the lodge the first time we visited, we returned two weeks later with our daughter and her family, which included her husband and their two children, ages 7 and 10. This is a great vacation spot for all ages. The rooms were clean, and the restaurant was fabulous. We highly recommend the park and lodge. We will definitely return soon and many times.

Dr. Norman and Georgia Armstrong

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neadoinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Salt Fork Lodge for the first time. The staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. The Timber's restaurant was very nice-good food and warm atmosphere, reasonably priced too. We had a great time relaxing in the cabanas near the pool. The Golf course at Salt Fork is amazing. It's a pretty tough course but the scenery alone is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cambridge
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cambridge
10.7 mi away
Pine Lakes Lodge B&B Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cambridge
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Cambridge
Days Inn Cambridge
#11 of 14 in Cambridge
262 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Cambridge
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center

Address: US Route 22 E, PO Box 7, Cambridge, OH 43725
Location: United States > Ohio > Guernsey County > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $100 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Salt Fork State Park can enjoy overnight accommodations at Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center. Conveniently located close to the intersection of Interstates 70 and 77, the lodge boasts 148 guestrooms, 54 cottages and eight meeting/conference rooms with a professional sales and catering staff. Also at the lodge you will find indoor/outdoor pools, a Jacuzzi, game room, fitness center, gift shop, lounge and full-service restaurant. Attractions and amenities at the park include an 18-hole championship golf course, nature center, two marinas, picnic area, seasonal hunting and fishing, boating, swimming and more. Whether you are planning a getaway for your family, a reunion with your classmates or a business conference away from the hustle and bustle of the city, Salt Fork provides the perfect atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Fork Hotel Cambridge
Salt Fork Lodge And Conference Center Cambridge, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing