We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Hartville, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent the night at Salt Fork and it was everything you could ask for. The dinner was positively delicious and the Margarita was perfect also! (We have eaten here before and the food is always, always scrumptious!) We had 3 deer right outside our balcony. Everyone is super friends, guests and employees. Lots of people walking and getting some good exercise. We will be back!

Room Tip: The king beds are extremely comfortable, nice large flat-screen TV's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bthomas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    145
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
213
139
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Honestly, I'm confused by the other reviews. We were just there for 2 nights. The kids were so excited we had a bunk bed room but when we got there the kids wouldn't even sleep in them. The floors were so dirty, there were spider webs everywhere, the coffee area was gross, we couldn't even put our clothes in the drawers, there was dirt & leaves. Thankfully the bathroom was clean. The walls are very very thin. You can hear everything. We had parties in adjacent rooms both night which kept us up all night. The deck as well as all outdoor areas around the lodge were covered with pigeon droppings. Gross! The pool was nice but the hot tub fumes were so strong it made both of my kids sick. There are stairs to the pool so the only way to take a stroller or wheelchair is to ask the front desk to call matainance to take you down in the elevator & unlock that floor. There are no signs in the elevator explaining that it won't go to that floor. You can keep pushing the "PL" floor button but it won't go unless they unlock it. There's steps getting to the playground as well. The lobby area was nice as well as the restaurant. I saw furniture being delivered & noticed some of the patio doors had been replaced so maybe ask for an updated room. For us, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a direct number to the lodge & ask them for advice on what rooms have been updated. Whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2TrvlwKds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Salt Fork Lodge. We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay for your family getaway.

I do apologize for the condition of your guestroom and the other facility issues that you encountered during your stay. Your comments have been reviewed by our entire management team and I can assure you we will work hard to resolve these issues so that future guests will not have the same negative experience. I also appreciate your positive feedback on the lobby and restaurant.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. I hope at some point we will have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Salt Fork Lodge.

Keith Cook
General Manager
Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at Salt Fork first weekend in April. We rented a Chalet had a hot tub and fireplace. Very clean and relaxing/comfortable.

Room Tip: Depending on what you want for animenities. The lodge was very nice know people who have stayed ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great weekend. Perfect for small groups who enjoy the outdoors. Will be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a very nice State Park lodge. We were there in the off season but everything was really nice. The room I stayed in was one of the cleanest I have ever been in at a hotel. The refridgerator was cold and worked well. Nice mild-medium hiking trails and a very nice golf course. The pool and hot tub had a bit too much chlorine in them for my liking but that is pretty common at hotels these days. It is worth checking out their website to see how many different activities they offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewCBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My family loves this park. We have stayed in the lodge multiple times, we have camped multiple times, and this last trip was our first stay in a cottage. We intended to camp but the weather was not cooperative. We were able to book a pet-friendly hillside cottage the morning of our departure. My children love to fish - the lake is wonderful for that! My daughter and I love to hike and we have now hiked every trail in the park. The trails are beautiful and well-maintained and most are dog-friendly which is important to us. We have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the entire state park well-maintained. The campground is our favorite spot with so many trails leading from the campground. Also, the campground beach is beautiful and remote. So many wonderful campsites to choose from and the bath-houses are large and well placed. Camp store is well-stocked with anything you might forget or run out of. Beautiful park all around - feels like a real getaway from the world for us!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I go with a large group every year for 5 days and 4 nights. It's amazing how the place gets better every year. The only thing that rivals the atmostphere is the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lake Side Cabins with a large group. The cabins although fantastic have very thin w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie17m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
10.7 mi away
Pine Lakes Lodge B&B Resort and Conference Center
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cambridge
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 14 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Cambridge
Days Inn Cambridge
#10 of 14 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
21.5 mi away
Coshocton Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
Address: US Route 22 E, PO Box 7, Cambridge, OH 43725
Location: United States > Ohio > Guernsey County > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Salt Fork State Park can enjoy overnight accommodations at Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center. Conveniently located close to the intersection of Interstates 70 and 77, the lodge boasts 148 guestrooms, 54 cottages and eight meeting/conference rooms with a professional sales and catering staff. Also at the lodge you will find indoor/outdoor pools, a Jacuzzi, game room, fitness center, gift shop, lounge and full-service restaurant. Attractions and amenities at the park include an 18-hole championship golf course, nature center, two marinas, picnic area, seasonal hunting and fishing, boating, swimming and more. Whether you are planning a getaway for your family, a reunion with your classmates or a business conference away from the hustle and bustle of the city, Salt Fork provides the perfect atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Fork Hotel Cambridge
Salt Fork Lodge And Conference Center Cambridge, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing