We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Priced, Poor management, Smelly.”
Review of Southgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southgate Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over-Priced, Poor management, Smelly.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Every other hotel was sold out and we were referred to this place. It looked OK from outside but inside it smelled like a dirty bathroom and there was dirt all over the rugs. Their web site said they gave AAA discounts but they would not give us the discount. The hallway and our room smelled like cigarette smoke. Our room had stains on the carpet, mold on the walls, insects in the bathroom, and a sink that backed up with brown water. At 2:00 AM we were awakened by the "tiki longe" patrons yelling and running around the hallway. That went on for about an hour. No security at all. We didn't bother to see if they offered any breakfast. We just got the heck out of there. On our way out we saw beer bottles and bags of trash on the floor. We had breakfast at Bob Evan's right by I70.
Disgusting and a total waste of $98. We were just as tired when we left as we were when we checked in.

Room Tip: Keep driving. You are bound to find some place nicer in the next town.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    8
    0
    15
See reviews for
7
11
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Sleep in my car before I stay here again. Front desk staff could not care less about your stay, the cleanliness of your room etc. Mold behind the peeling wall paper, water smells and taste terrible. That being said the young lady who works the tiki lounge is very friendly, and the housekeeping staff are as well. However they can not overcome the mismanagement of the young ladies working the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IJWMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is so gross. One night would have been okay, but we had to stay long-term due to business. The wallpaper was falling off of the wall and there was black mold on the wall and ceiling. There was also mold on the bathtub and housekeeping wouldn't clean. They tried to charge $10/ night for pets. The front desk staff was rude, especially the one called Poky. They were unaccommodating and its not very hard to make us happy. They make you pay in advance for a week at a time and we checked out after five days and they would not give us our money back for the other two days. They claim they don't do refunds for monthly. This hotel is just ridiculous and I would not wish this place on my worst enemy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshandami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is one of the nastiest hotels I've ever stayed in. This place should be a $20 a night hooker hotel. The room had mold all over the ceiling and reaked of mildew and cigarettes. The bar is super loud and trashy. No one answered the phone when we called the front desk and when we went to the front desk to ask for another room, we stood at the front desk for over 20 minutes waiting on someone to help us.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amboromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stopped in at 10:00 pm with no reservations. All hotels in town were booked and the nearest hotel was ninety minutes away. Night clerk would not budge from his $89.00 for the room.
Requested non smoking room. After walking around the rear of the building, then past the mound of cigarette butts laying near the door walked upstairs to my room. Opened the door and immediately smelled smoke and then noticed a ash tray on the table. Called and requested another room, entered the new room and again the smell of cigarettes permeated the air and again another ash tray laying on the table. I then called front desk and requested another non smoking room. I was informed that was all he had, Room and carpet were filthy, stains on the bed sheet. I asked for a partial refund in the morning and received "sorry". Stay away. This place is a dive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

No other hotels available. Ok for 1 night. Beds were comfy. Room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Yes, unlocked my door and saw that someone else's stuff was already there! Thank goodness they weren't in there. When I finally got a room to myself (after lugging all my bags up and down steps since there is no elevator) I found someone else's bathroom garbage still in the garbage can. The room was quite shabby too and when I told the snotty blonde at the front desk that I was dissatisfied and would like to speak to a manager she told me I could not and would be charged for 2 nights even though I left after one. I eventually was refunded. This place is a dive. I will never go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Cambridge
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Cambridge
Days Inn Cambridge
#10 of 14 in Cambridge
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Cambridge
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southgate Hotel

Property: Southgate Hotel
Address: 2248 Southgate Pkwy, I-70 & State RT 209 Exit 178, Cambridge, OH 43725-3038 (Formerly Cambridge Inn)
Location: United States > Ohio > Guernsey County > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southgate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southgate Hotel is locally owned. The Hotel has been extensively renovated and completely updated. Besides our comfortable rooms, we also offer meeting & banquet rooms,(which has an open door policy to caterer's), a lounge, exercise room, and an outdoor pool. We also have a nice covered patio with gas grills, table and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southgate Hotel Cambridge, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing