We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel Taylor Inn B&B
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Cambridge)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
27
2
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
2
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold victorianone nightcommon areascarolmansionfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent a Saturday night at Colonel Taylor Inn for our anniversary. The home is absolutely stunning and very well kept/clean. Breakfast was scrambled eggs and biscuits & gravy. Both delicious!

We opted for the 60 minute couples massage in our room and it was amazing. The massage therapists are from Jacqueline's Day Spa in town and they're very good at what they do. Very polite and professional. One of the best massages I've ever had!

Only complaint was the Iris room doesn't have an attached bathroom, so you have to go into the hall to get to it. It's also right by the stairs, so it can be noisy. We will definitely stay here again. We'll just pick a different room next time!

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank MaeDay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

They took a reservation and even called back to obtain credit card, when arrived Inn was locked and they had gone out of town. They did not answer their cell, and called us next day with half-hearted apology that needed to go out of town and did not have our phone number with them. Ruined our vacation and had to find another place 45 minutes away with two children in car after waiting around for almost an hour. Inn in depressed area and has seen better days, from outside view not kept up,

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdw549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

We booked this mansion as the final grand hurrah to our 25th wedding anniversary trip. Though it was fairly pricey, we decided the grandeur and 5-course gourmet breakfast that we had read about on the website would be worth it. However, the 5 course breakfast was not to be. After two courses and waiting a very long time, our hostess finally presented herself after a long phone conversation in the kitchen and seemed surprised that we were still at the table. Nor was any afternoon dessert and drinks presented to us when we arrived, also advertised on the website. Though it's true that this home must have been quite the thing to see in its hey-day, with lots of interesting and beautiful built-in carved woodwork and massive rooms, it was not decorated as grandly as I was expecting. The owner is a real estate agent so does not have time to give much attention to this side-line. Pretty much during the entire evening after we arrived she was in the main lounge debriefing with various people about how her business day and other personal matters had gone, so I went to the less comfortable parlor. It could be okay for her to run the place with a minimal breakfast and not much attention to guests, but if it is be that way it should not be advertised as gourmet, and the price should reflect that. In that case it might have been worth seeing the house just for history's sake.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank 415suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

We stayed in the Colonel Taylor Inn for one night on a trip between NJ and Indianapolis. Both the exterior and interior are quite nice and our room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.

The B&B is a side business for the owner, and we were greeted by her sister who checked us in and gave us a tour of the house. Right after that, she left and we had the house to ourselves. Although we indicated that an 8:30 a.m. breakfast would be nice, when asked, there was no evidence of either breakfast or the owner when we came down from our room at that time. A few minutes later we met the owner for the first time. She told us that we could take a cup of coffee and sit anywhere we would like until breakfast was ready. We told her that we would be out on the porch. After a while, we figured breakfast must be ready and went inside, only to find the food getting cold on the table, and the owner on the phone taking care of her Real Estate Business.

Since we were the only customers that evening, things might be better on a weekend when the Inn would likely have more patrons.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

The room is nice. Unfortunately it was not made up today. Breakfast was a joke. Had better at Hampton Inn. Absentee owner not very helpful about things to do in the area. Dog and cats are kept in some rooms.

1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews