We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$71
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$63
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baymont by Wyndham Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
$71
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$116
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Cambridge)
Book now, pay at stay
$96
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Cambridge)
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
$65
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 08/02
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
27
2
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
2
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold victorianone nightcommon areascarolmansionfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 36 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2016

We booked this mansion as the final grand hurrah to our 25th wedding anniversary trip. Though it was fairly pricey, we decided the grandeur and 5-course gourmet breakfast that we had read about on the website would be worth it. However, the 5 course breakfast was not to be. After two courses and waiting a very long time, our hostess finally presented herself after a long phone conversation in the kitchen and seemed surprised that we were still at the table. Nor was any afternoon dessert and drinks presented to us when we arrived, also advertised on the website. Though it's true that this home must have been quite the thing to see in its hey-day, with lots of interesting and beautiful built-in carved woodwork and massive rooms, it was not decorated as grandly as I was expecting. The owner is a real estate agent so does not have time to give much attention to this side-line. Pretty much during the entire evening after we arrived she was in the main lounge debriefing with various people about how her business day and other personal matters had gone, so I went to the less comfortable parlor. It could be okay for her to run the place with a minimal breakfast and not much attention to guests, but if it is be that way it should not be advertised as gourmet, and the price should reflect that. In that case it might have been worth seeing the house just for history's sake.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank 415suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

We stayed in the Colonel Taylor Inn for one night on a trip between NJ and Indianapolis. Both the exterior and interior are quite nice and our room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.

The B&B is a side business for the owner, and we were greeted by her sister who checked us in and gave us a tour of the house. Right after that, she left and we had the house to ourselves. Although we indicated that an 8:30 a.m. breakfast would be nice, when asked, there was no evidence of either breakfast or the owner when we came down from our room at that time. A few minutes later we met the owner for the first time. She told us that we could take a cup of coffee and sit anywhere we would like until breakfast was ready. We told her that we would be out on the porch. After a while, we figured breakfast must be ready and went inside, only to find the food getting cold on the table, and the owner on the phone taking care of her Real Estate Business.

Since we were the only customers that evening, things might be better on a weekend when the Inn would likely have more patrons.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

The room is nice. Unfortunately it was not made up today. Breakfast was a joke. Had better at Hampton Inn. Absentee owner not very helpful about things to do in the area. Dog and cats are kept in some rooms.

1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 8, 2015

This is a very special place. We were in awe of the mansion as soon as we pulled in and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. Carol is a wonderful hostess and went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. The reservation process and check-in was smooth, our room (along with the whole house) was tastefully decorated to the time period, even down to all the little touches, everything was very clean and our bathroom was modern (a bonus in such an old house!). There is literature on the home renovation and even some ghost stories if you're brave enough, and so many rooms and details to explore that we were never short of something to do. We have been a guest in many B&Bs in the US and abroad, and this one is our current favorite. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All guest rooms are on the second level of the home and all have a private bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourBeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had the great fortune of spending the night at the Colonel Taylor Inn in Cambridge Ohio. We wanted to find a place to stay for our girls weekend with charm and history. The Colonel Taylor fit the bill. It is a beautiful old Victorian immaculately kept with each room comfortable and inviting keeping with the heritage of the home. We were greeted graciously and made to feel right at home. We loved the tour and historical background given by Sandy who was so very kind and knowledgeable. We slept like babies an awoke to a delicious breakfast that a five star hotel would be pressed to make. Thank you Carole, Sandy and staff for a wonderful stay. We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: any room is great if you need to fit more that 2 people per room ask for the Iris suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kimsuerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews