We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of The Bears Den

The Bears Den
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It doesn’t look like much from the outside, and the décor inside is heavy on taxidermy, but if you look beyond the casual appearances, they’re slinging some great food in here. The menu ranges from pretty affordable sandwiches and burgers to rather pricey cuts of what is touted as local dry-aged beef. I’m a fan of dry aging, so I gave it a shot, and it did not disappoint. It was deeply flavorful, well-seasoned and clearly accurately described as dry aged. I’ve had better steaks for a lot more money in big cities, but this was a really nice surprise in rural Ohio. The only complaint was that my rare steak came out medium rare. My wife went for the fish special, which she enjoyed thoroughly. Sides were a bit pedestrian, but everything was competent. Just a few miles off the highway, this is a great alternative to the depressing chain options in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veblen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    58
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Steaks were great! Appetizers were awesome. Can't wait to try something different next time. Service was great very friendly! Would recommend and plan on returning

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steaks are great!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Very casual and clean restaurant! Have been here with couples and with family/small children. Great for all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allisoncrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Using TripAdvisors, I found this place, it was well rated, so we thought we would give it a try after Deerassic Classic on Friday night. Though way out in the boonies, it is an excellent place. It was nice they were open later since Deerassic can run late and some restaurants are closed or near closing by the time we get there. This place has a nice front porch where you can eat outside or a nice sized internal area. There were 5 of us and we all complimented the food and drinks. During the meal we all agree we had found our new favorite place in Cambridge. The food was the best have had in coming to Cambridge for 8 years for Deerassic. If you like a laid back atmosphere, country/ lodge theme and great food, this is a place to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JCFOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Neat atmosphere”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The restaurant had a very fun atmosphere with all the animals in there. The food was okay nothing amazing. Service was okay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bears Den also viewed

Cambridge, Guernsey County
Cambridge, Guernsey County
 
Cambridge, Guernsey County
 
Cambridge, Guernsey County
Cambridge, Guernsey County
 

Been to The Bears Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing