We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Day Dinner 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Welshfield Inn

Welshfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Burton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Route 700
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Day Dinner 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Reservation were made well in Advance of Thanksgiving Day. I was looking forward to wonderful ambiance & great food. Instead we were told that we would be seated next door in the banquet room.This was not made clear when reservations were made . Outside the "Church' building looks interesting but inside it was one big noisy room. No decorations. Ceilings were very tall . Noise level was not absorbed by the carpeting. Service was sluggish, both in waiting for someone to come to the table initially & in the delivery of the meal once ordered. The food itself was bland. Gravy was very thick & bland & so was the stuffing. It was not worth the $30.00 for a turkey dinner. I would not return for sure for Thanksgiving Day meal. I was told that the food from the menu is better . Maybe they should give you the option of ordering from the menu instead of their mediocre turkey dinner. I called ,Spoke to management .. They offered $ 20.00 towards the next meal . Very Disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    50
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very good food and helpful, friendly staff. Very accommodating when asked to share a salad, and even suggested other options.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Oh...delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We sat in the fireplace room, watching the snowfall outside, enjoying a phenomenal meal. My husband had chicken pot pie and a salad, I had pot roast. Both were delicious. Don't skip dessert, the caramel apple pie was amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanSea03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We're always pleased we made the trip out to the Welshfield Inn. Food is consistently good. Crab cake appetizer was excellent. Salads were fresh, I enjoyed the MacKenzie salad, fresh goat cheese makes it superb. We enjoyed the prime rib, braised pork shanks and barbecued pork chop. All were very good. Only minor complaint at our table was the the prime rib, ordered medium, was closer to medium-well, very little if any pink visible. My guess is that most of the cuts are medium rare and they broil them a bit to hit medium or medium-well selections? We'll continue to go back and enjoy this excellent restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dbld777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice spot out in the country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We live approximately 20 minutes from the Welshfield Inn and had not been there for quite some time. We enjoyed a nice dinner last Friday night, seated in the garden, on a somewhat cool fall evening (probably the last time we will be able to do outdoor dining in Cleveland before next Spring). They had nice large butane heaters that warmed it up just enough for an enjoyable evening. My husband had the fish fry, which he enjoyed very much. I had the healthier option of a Grilled Walleye with Indian Spices and a Summer Ratatouille, which I enjoyed and it was seasoned and cooked nicely. Prices are fairly reasonable as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welshfield Inn also viewed

 

Been to Welshfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing