We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy elegance.!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Welshfield Inn

Welshfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Burton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Route 700
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cozy elegance.!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Sipping a glass of wine on spacious veranda while waiting for friends to arrive for dinner....cozy elegance!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksanikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    50
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quite good in its second incarnation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This inn has been providing great meals to us for over 30 years, from when it was an old country house to this newly updated version. We regularly meet here for family get-togethers on special occasions -- birthdays, Easter, Mother's Day - and have not been disappointed in either their brunch or dinner menus. Reservations are the smart way to go, as Welshfield is in the middle of nowhere; but it is a very pretty drive in the country to get there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stop for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I went to Welshfield Inn for our anniversary dinner. If you were looking for a little privacy, or a romantic setting, this was not the place. All the seating was open, with many other occupied seats nearby. Otherwise, the food was excellent, the service was quick and very friendly. Prices were as to be expected at an establishment such as this. The Inn and the grounds themselves were very pretty and professional maintained. Everything was clean and well taken care of.They had outside seating with beautiful flowers all around. They had a porch theme seating arrangement inside that my wife and I really enjoyed. If you are looking for very good food in a good atmosphere and with excellent service, then I recommend you give them a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daromiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cant get a drink at 856 p.m.??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I could not beleive that me and my fiance wanted to have a drink outside and/or in the bar. there were 25 people there and we were told "CLOSED FOR BUSINESS" What the heck? we were ready to sit for at least a half hour with the other folks remaining to pay for and imbibe on some spirits and spend money.

Guess not....we went up the road and spent our money elsewhere in Mulligans in Burton, Ohio. We spent out money there and I reccomend going there instead.

Mr.Owner of Welshfield...you lost some good customers. That is not good business sense..makes no sense at all.

Imagine in this economy turning down folks. A response from the owner/mgr would be nice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
205 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful and classy place to eat dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Punderson Manor State Park and when we asked about a good place to eat in the area we were told about the Welshfield Inn. It has quite a history including the fact that it once was part of the Underground Railroad but the grounds and food were what we were most impressed with. It is located in a beautiful old building with a nice outside dining area behind it with lots of flowers, plants, trees, decorative fence and outside lights. They even had outside heaters as some of the customers were a little cold! I had the shrimp scampi and beef tenderloin and it was delicious! It had a creme sauce on it that was wonderful and the beef and shrimp both were so tender they melted in your mouth. My fiance had a salmon pasta dish and he raved about the salmon with a beet reduction sauce on it! We both had Welshfield salads and they were fresh with lots of different ingredients such as lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, corn, eggs, bacon bits, red peppers and crumbled blue cheese and they were really good, too. It was a little pricey but we felt it was well worth it.Our waitress was very attentive and seemed genuinely happy that we enjoyed our meal. We will definitely go back if we are in the area again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigercar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welshfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing