We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Struan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Struan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Calvine B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful as are mine hosts.
Made to feel welcome from the start.
The decor is beautiful throughout and our red bedroom was delightful.
Gareth's cooking is fabulous and we had two great nights in the cosy bar with other guests. After their chores Mary-Ann and Bob joined us for a blather.

All the very best in your second year of business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grays28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is tucked away from the A9 next to a river. Its a beautiful old building that has been decorated in keeping with tradtional scottish taste. Ive fallen in love with tartan carpets! The bar is very cosy with a log fire and the dining room displays a lovely set of antlers. The food was very tasty and its good to see local produce being used by local business. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Would highly reccommend staying.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolaandlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stumbled on this after a long day's travel.

What an oasis. The room was lovely, the food is great, the beer is good and the owners are great people. Had dinner and breakfast which were both excellent. Great, fresh local produce.

Could not recommend highly enough.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

So nice to see the inn open to public again, had a lovely meal, the chicken is absolutely beautiful
thanks to the superb chef garth.very cosy little bar was nice to have a dram with the locals.the rooms are beautiful and immaculate especially the family room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroldavid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very friendly owners who are most helpful. Fantastic food and great accommodation. Very quiet and peaceful. Great for a family visit to Highland Scotland. Lots of things to do. Very close to Blair Atholl and House of Bruar. Highly recommended and good value of your money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The owners welcomed us before we even made it to the front door and were extremely friendly. The room was spotless and comfortable. The food (both dinner and breakfast) was of the highest standard. I cannot compliment the chef enough. The location is perfect for everything in Perthshire and we had a fantastic time here. Children were made to feel especially welcome. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Would highly reccommend this B&B to anyone visiting Pitlochry and the surrounding areas. Rooms are squeeky clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was absolutely lovely. Would defo go back! Very cost effective for what you get!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvine
4.3 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
10.1 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,269 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
9.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,044 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Struan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Struan Inn

Address: Calvine | Blair Atholl, Calvine PH18 5UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Calvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Calvine
Price Range: $109 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Struan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Struan Inn was built in 1863 and is located in a quiet and rural location just on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park. The Inn is twelve miles north of the town of Pitlochry and five miles north of the village of Blair Atholl, but just two minutes from the main A9 road. All five guest bedrooms are en-suite. Relax in our cosy bar with log burning stove and enjoy freshly cooked local produce in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Struan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing