We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the coffee”

Grounds For Thought
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Bowling Green
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Milan, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go for the coffee”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been going to Grounds for Thought for several years as our son lives in Bowling Green. Love the coffee and the friendly atmosphere. Won't buy my coffee any where else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattep_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Meetings”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I always enjoy having meetings at Grounds for Thought. Whether it is early morning or in the evening, the atmosphere is great and puts everyone at ease.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarineSweetie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grounds for Thought is a Wonderful Cultural Experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Grounds for Thought is more than just a coffeehouse, bakery or restaurant. It is all of those things, but it is also becoming a wonderful if unexpected concert venue featuring free concerts throughout the year. Usually the concerts feature acts that have appeared at the Blackswamp Festival annually in downtown Bowling Green. There is just a clearing in the middle of the shop for a stage. The lighting is provide by overhead clip lights, but it does the job and adds to the quaintness experience.

Grounds for Thought roasts its own coffee which I rate as pretty good. I drink my coffee with nothing in it, and I am rewarded by the wonderful roast profiles found here. The prices are fair for coffee and treats, and they even have an ice cream counter in the middle of the store.

This place is also a bookstore, and it sells limited cds. If that isn't enough Grounds for Thought is starting its own record label.

This place isn't just a must visit while in BG. It is a destination for us. A complete cultural experience is to be had at Grounds for Thought.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hallmarksucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best place to "hang-out"”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a place that appeals to all generations! I love to go there to meet a friend and have a chat over a cup of hot chocolate, or go there alone to do some writing that I've been neglecting, or use one of their many books for reference --- or to just read! And my daughter, 40 years younger than me, always used it for the same purposes. I know people that take their little ones there to give them a treat and look through some of the children's books there. This is a great place at all times, but especially during any inclement weather spell. Try it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazyoldbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coolest Place in BG!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Whether you are visiting BG or a resident, Grounds for Thought is a great place to take a break. Grounds offers a wide variety of coffees, donuts and other baked goods.They also serve ice cream, sandwiches and cakes. All are outstanding. The owners are friendly and there is a neighborly atmosphere when you walk in. Grounds also has thousands of used books to choose from. If you enjoy coffee, donuts and/or books, be sure to stop in!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grounds For Thought also viewed

 
Bowling Green, OH
 

Been to Grounds For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing