We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”

Canal Tavern of Zoar
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Bolivar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, German, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine casual dining in Zoar's original tavern and inn.
ALLIANCE
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went last night with friends to the Canal Tavern and felt very welcome and comfortable there. Even though the weather wasn't ideal last night because it had just poured rain before we arrived and all the tables and chairs were wet, the staff was very accomodating and dried the table and chairs so we could still dine on the patio as planned. The men enjoyed the different beers that are offered and the ladies enjoyed the house wines which are reasonabily priced. We were given a special harvest menu since Zoar was having their annual harvest festival. The menu includes a lot of German food including the appetizers. There were two on the menu last night so we got one of each. When the appetizers arrived they looked artisian and reminded me very much of the way they are served in Europe. Everyone enjoyed their meals and John, the owner, came to check to be sure we liked everything. He is a very nice person and is sincere about making sure his guests enjoy their dining experience. After dinner we went inside and toured the tavern from the basement to upstairs and all the staff were very friendly and happy to show us around. (We saw George's picture but did not encounter him on our tour.) We had very enjoyable evening there and will definitely return. Can't wait to see it during fall and Christmas - just wish it were closer!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanietik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    23
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good time, friendly staff!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This old canal house is so charming. Enjoy a cold beer and the old beams overhead. Just a great lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedoctor2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived with a reservation for a party of five and were seated at a table meant for four. We were given drink menus (including my 13-year-old daughter) but no dinner menus. We then waited 10 minutes for the waiter to bring dinner menus and take our drink order and after another 15 minutes with no drinks, we left. I can vouch for the food being delicious here and our previous experiences were wonderful. This experience was abysmal. Such a disappointment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccbn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoariten, Owner at Canal Tavern of Zoar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am very sorry about your recent unsatisfactory visit to Canal Tavern of Zoar. You are completely correct in your review of this visit, but since you have had previously good experiences with us, I would like you to return and give us the opportunity to make amends. In the meantime, I would be happy to talk with you a little more about your experience. Feel free to call me at 330-323-1529. Thank you.

Jon Elsasser
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Enjoyable German meals”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My sisters, daughter and granddaughter enjoyed lunch on the patio at the Canal Tavern as part of our annual "Girls Day Out"! We each had a different entree....braised lamb, meatloaf, pork schnitzel, spaetzle soup and bacon lettuce and tomato sandwich. All were delicious. Service was a little slow...but, that was fine as we were in no hurry and were enjoying the day on the patio.all of us want to come back to the tavern again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoariten, Owner at Canal Tavern of Zoar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your visit and Trip Advisor review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Jon Elsasser
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
256 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but not to be forgotten”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were fortunate to stop at this restaurant for lunch on the 4th of July. The staff was initially so accommodating (it was close to closing for lunch) that I was thankful and impressed.( I have been in fancy places that cannot be bothered with customer service). So we had a beautiful lunch outside in the middle of our bicycle ride through Bolivar and Zoar. Their menu was quite extensive. The food was great, the staff was friendly and the venue was beautiful. We toured the building and cellar which is quite historic and even saw a painting of their resident ghost named George. This is a lovely place. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ester94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Tavern of Zoar also viewed

 

Been to Canal Tavern of Zoar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing