We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD, GREAT ATMOSPHERE, GREAT SERVICE, GREAT FUN”

Canal Tavern of Zoar
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Bolivar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fine casual dining in Zoar's original tavern and inn.
1 review
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT ATMOSPHERE, GREAT SERVICE, GREAT FUN”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The atmosphere was friendly, service with a smile and good conversation. Food was great. i will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    25
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food, service and atmosphere. Met and talk with John the owner, our server Sheri and the chef. All made our dinning expierence wonderful. A must stop in Zoar.
Charlene & Rick
Pgh. Pa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Welcoming Atmosphere, Great Food!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed with a smile and great conversation. Sherry, our waitress, was fabulous! She has a great attitude and was very helpful in explaining menu items. We tried the potato pancake of the day and it was delicious! Our main courses were just as impressive. I had the meatloaf and my husband had the chicken schnitzel and both were just scrumptious and very filling! Our friends also enjoyed their meals. We topped the evening off with dessert even though we were completely stuffed. The beignets and ice cream are a must try! There's a nice selection of wine and drinks to accompany your meal as well. We loved how the owners and staff took such pride in this place. It shows in every way! Overall, this place is a hit and if you pass it up, you're missing out!

Helpful?
Thank Kwags14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service Excellent Food Good Not Great”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Enjoyed the food. Portions were fine. Potato pancakes were good but not the best that I've had. Spaetzle soup was delicious and my spouse enjoyed his salad. My spouse enjoyed his salmon and I enjoyed my meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank givemeabreak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Liebte das Essen Deutsch!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Delighted to discover such authentic German food! The menu offers variety, but I was more than satisfied with quality and flavor of the sausage, spaetzle, sauerbraten and kraut.

Helpful?
Thank martijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoariten, Owner at Canal Tavern of Zoar, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Google Translation
Danke schoen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Tavern of Zoar also viewed

 

Been to Canal Tavern of Zoar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing