We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say....REAL Homemade Ice Cream”
Review of Handels Ice Cream

Handels Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Boardman
Certificate of Excellence
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What can I say....REAL Homemade Ice Cream”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Handels is a staple of the greater Youngstown, Ohio area. They are known for their truly Homemade Ice Cream and large selection of flavors. It has been rumored that Bill Cosby has Handels Ice Cream shipped to him because "it is the best in the country".

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Wilmington, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best ice cream around”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

been visiting handles since i was little. nothing like homemade ice cream that's still soft and delicous.

Helpful?
Thank kiawahvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You Haven't Had REAL Ice Cream Until HANDELS”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the best ICE CREAM I have ever had! Anytime I am in town, I will be definitely coming back. The first visit I got Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie in a waffle cone. WOW. Simply WOW. The second time I got an Ice Cream Pop. That was really good too. Too much chocolate on the outside but it definitely curbed my chocolate craving.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaney89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Rated nationally as one of the best and a local tradition. Very diverse selection of flavors made daily on site. It has a cult like following amongst the locals.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pine1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in town!!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Handels has been in the Youngstown area for many, many years. It actually started in a gas station from what I understand. They make all their own ice cream, and most of the flavors are simply awesome. My favorite is Chocolate Malt with Caramel....it's great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynne92649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handels Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Handels Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing