We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream in town!!!!”
Review of Handels Ice Cream

Handels Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Boardman
Certificate of Excellence
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in town!!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Handels has been in the Youngstown area for many, many years. It actually started in a gas station from what I understand. They make all their own ice cream, and most of the flavors are simply awesome. My favorite is Chocolate Malt with Caramel....it's great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynne92649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMM GOOOOOOOD”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I love ice cream and they have a good selection. I eat the sugar free ice cream and believe me, you can't tell the difference. I which they had more flavors thought.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A required stop!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are originally from the Youngstown area and grew up on Handels Ice Cream. Whenever we get back to that area a stop at Handels is required. The chocolate pecan is the best, try it, you can't go wrong.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyt1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We love Handlels. We always go and are never dissapointed! Red Skies at night is my favorite flavor.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmsgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So yummy!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

OMG I went to Handles twice this summer and can't wait to go again when I'm in town! They have so many awesome flavors to choose from but be warned - it's hard to narrow it down to just one or two!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EvaLondon_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handels Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Handels Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing