We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but needs improvements” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Blue Ash
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice, but needs improvements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend. Room was very nice. However, our room was not cleaned all day Saturday so we had no fresh towels. Also, the breakfast area is WAY TO SMALL for summer weekends with traveling families. There was not nearly enough seating and the one girl working was trying her best but could not keep up with the crowd.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genesis H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello Lesile,

Thank you for review. Sorry for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel. I do value all feedback that we receive. We have addressed the housekeeping issue you had. Iassure the issue has been resolved. Thank you again for the feedback. Hope you give us another chance.

Thank you,

Genesis Hargett
Holiday Inn Express
Blue Ash, OH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
37
12
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was the first time we have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express. The lobby was clean and welcoming. The front desk clerk was pleasant. Our rooms were clean and spacious. The bathrooms were clean and great.

I was disappointed in the lumpy, uncomfortable beds that need replaced. All 4 beds (2 rooms) were the same. I was also disappointed in the pool. It was a small, tight area. There was so much chlorine that my eyes burned just sitting on the side, watching the kids. I didn't even swim. After about 10 minutes, we left the pool area because everyone's eyes were on fire.

The breakfast was GREAT. The kids enjoyed it all as did the adults. There was plenty of selection and the staff would restock often.

All in all, the employees of the hotel were wonderful. Thumbs up to them. It is in a convenient location.

I guess that I expected a bit more with a nightly rate of over $125/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear RoverCity,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean. The breakfast area was a tad small and the pancake maker was not working (which seems to be the case at other HIE- maybe it's time for the corp to look into another brand of machine). The location seems to be in an office park- light industrial area which was not a problem- it was quiet on the weekend.

Eat at the Sammy's Burger place that is a short walk or drive. It was a nice local restaurant and the deep fried jalapenos were awesome!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 332neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genesis H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Pittpantherfan,

Thank you for your kind words. I am sorry for the inconveniences you faced at our hotel. We have been looking into a solution for both them. I am glad you like Sammy's Burgers, we have always had great reviews for them.

Thank you,
Genesis Hargett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family and I stayed here while visiting family for a week. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. We took advantage of all the amenities and really enjoyed our stay. We will be coming back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genesis H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hello Melinda J,

Thank you so much for all your kind words. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main goal is to ensure each customer has a pleasant experience like you did. We truly look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thank you,
Genesis Hargett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel does not support the military. They limit their military discount to active duty military on orders. In this time in the USA, that is very bad business. They do not respect the sacrifices of all the retired military who gave their live work to defend this country. That is a shame. Since the HI Express are all franchises, each owner has the choice to decide for them selves how they want to apply discounts. This owner has chosen not to support retired military, as I said. Aside from that, this is a standard HI Express and the rooms are fine and clean. But if you are retired military of a supporter of the military you may want to find a more military supportive place nearby. There are plenty of choices. No, I am not a competitor, I am retired military. They were very clear about their lack of support and I challenged them in a friendly and explanative way.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mgmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear mgmarks,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

What made me rate this Holiday Inn Express was the customer services. They were very accomodating to our needs. They made sure we had everything we needed to accomodate a broken foot and still make a king sized bed available to us. The complimentary Wi-Fi is really great and the room was also clean and neat. The breakfast was your typical Holiday Inn Express meal. The cinnamon rolls are awesome but the rest of the selections are just okay. It does give you enough to give you energy to start your day. We would not hesitate to stay at this Holiday Inn Express again when we are in Cincinnati.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Beachtravel56,

First off I want to thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Blue Ash. I myself and we the entire staff really is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We truly do try and make a good impression on each and every customer and we are glad that you noticed.

Also I want to thank you for your wonderful response, it really made our day. We hope if you are ever in the area again that you do decide to stay with us. We did just resurface our pool and are now offering a different to go option for breakfast.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you need anything. Once again thank you.

Daniel Potts
General Manager
513.985.9035
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The ventilation systems must be connected because we could smell cigarette smoke coming through the bathroom vent. Called the front desk who just said, "we will make a note." The room was average and showing its age. The room was not all that clean. The hotel is showing its age. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAmomroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Pamomroadtripper,

First off I want to thank you for staying with us, we do appreciate each and every single customer that stays with us. That being said we take smoking in our non smoking hotel very serious and have serious charges for people who do this offence. As well we apologize that you experienced an issue and would me more than happy if we could make it up to you on a future stay. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to help you.

Daniel Potts
General Manager
513.985.9035
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blue Ash hotels
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Cincinnati Blue Ash
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cincinnati/Blue Ash
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - Northeast (Blue Ash)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 18 in Blue Ash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati/Blue Ash
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Address: 4660 Creek Road, Blue Ash, OH 45242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Blue Ash
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Blue Ash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blue Ash is a northern Cincinnati area hotel located in the heart of the Blue Ash business district. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking.Begin your day with our free hot breakfast buffet, which now features new items such as scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits with gravy, fresh fruit, breakfast breads and our signature cinnamon rolls, just to name a few favorites. All guest rooms offer free high-speed wired & wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron/board and in-room coffee makers for your convenience. Nearby businesses include: Toyota, P & G, Ethicon Endo, IBM, GE, Kroger, Miami Systems and many more. Our guests enjoy our indoor heated pool and 24-hour fitness center. Local attractions nearby include Kings Island, Beach Water Park, Cincinnati Zoo, Newport Aquarium, University of Cincinnati, and Xavier University. Our hotel is just a short drive to downtown Cincinnati, the Great American Ball Park, home of the Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Reds Hall of Fame Museum, as well as Paul Brown Stadium, home of the Cincinnati Bengals. You may be interested in visiting some of the local events near the hotel, such as the Taste of Blue Ash, Macy's Music Festival, and WEBN Fireworks. No matter what your travel needs, we look forward to having you as our guests at the Holiday Inn Express Blue Ash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Blue Ash
Holiday Inn Blue Ash
Blue Ash Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blue Ash, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing