We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Donna's Premier Lodging
Ranked #1 of 10 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
OHIO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

I've stayed at Donna's Premier Lodging two times now. Both times were spectacular! The first time I stayed in the Original Log Cabin. Wow! It was so clean and the setting was spectacular. We ordered the Hot Country Breakfast delivered right to the door and couldn't have been more pleased. The omelets were delicious and the portions were huge! The attention to detail was evident in everything that I saw...we were welcomed with a fresh fruit & cookie platter & a bottle of sparkling cider...the towels were so plush....the bubble bath for the Jacuzzi was awesome....out on the porch they had rocking chairs to sit out and enjoy the outdoors! The second time I stayed was in the Sauna Suite. I stayed by myself and felt so recharged and relaxed afterwards! I enjoyed having the fireplace on in the bedroom as I drifted off to sleep and the bed was SO COMFORTABLE! I would recommend Donna's to anyone looking for a romantic get-a-way or to someone who's just looking to get-a-way from the hussle and bussle of everyday life!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeycutt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    14
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
268
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

$179 a night rip-off! This was supposed to be a romantic night away for my wife's birthday. The room was not anything like what is shown on the website. It was a cheap, low quality basement-type room, right under the main office. It had none of the romantic charm advertised. We were woken up at 6AM by a worker walking around above the bedroom. After we complained about the poor room conditions, Donna said we should have asked for better pillows & a quiter fridge. Also, she charges $10 extra per person for a hot breakfast - even if you go up to the main office to get it yourself.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubascott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPL44610, Owner at Donna's Premier Lodging, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Our goal at Donna's Premier Lodging is for each of our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us. Our guests are the heart of our business, and we always have, and will continue to strive to accommodate their needs. I appreciate both you and your wife taking the time to share your concerns in two separate comment forms. You may feel free to read my response to her comments which addresses your comments. It is true we serve a hot country breakfast to your room for a small $10.00 charge per person; however, we don't serve the hot country breakfast in the main office. We take guests comments seriously and strive to make our accommodations enjoyable and relaxing for all our guests. We value each guest that walks through our doors. We have had 19+ wonderful years of serving thousands of very satisfied customers, and are grateful to these and many customers for their continued, repeat patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Do NOT stay here! NOT a "premier" lodging. Pillows are concrete.. Decor is old and outdated - not "charming & old-fashioned" Stayed in the Sauna Suite & was woken at 6 AM by staff people walking in the office above us - for $180 a night! Ridiculous!!! Noisy fridge kept me up all night anyway.
Hubby paid an extra $30 for candles & rose petals - Donna should be ashamed - cheap dollar stuff stuff - fake rose petals too! 100% rip off.
Also - there is no separate living room with TV - the mini couch is at the foot of the bed in the same small room. The pictures do not reflect reality. On top of the fireplace was a tiny TV, VCR/DVD combo and a small lamp - their wires hanging all out connected to a 3 plug adapter - so cheesy. No antenna/reception on the stereo either. Very crappy accomodations.
Complained to Donna, but she offered nothing other than, "sorry you weren't happy". Heard the "inn at the Amish Door" is a really nice place - for MUCH less $.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sthomas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPL44610, Owner at Donna's Premier Lodging, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Let me preface my response by saying that I regret that your experience was not acceptable. We strive to make each guest's stay enjoyable and relaxing. Unfortunately neither I nor any of the staff were aware of your concerns until the day you departed. My staff remembers you coming into the office during your stay and making small talk with no mention of your dissatisfaction of the poor quality of the room or any other concerns. If we had known you were not happy, we would have been glad to find lodging to your satisfaction. Even though you found the sauna suite not acceptable we have many guests that have stayed in this room and have requested this room for their 2nd and 3rd stays. Our goal is to provide bedding that is comfortable for our guests. We keep a supply of extra pillows from soft, medium and firm pillows which we can exchange for a pillow that will better suit our guests' preference. The "romance package" comes with silk rose petals. Due to the fact that real rose petals have stained our sheets, towels and Jacuzzi's we found it best to use the silk rose petals for this package. You mentioned being woke up at 6:00 a.m. We have addressed this with our kitchen staff along with the local bakery which delivers freshly made pastries each morning. We will strive to be more sensitive to our guests staying in the main building to avoid noise. I regret that I did not have the opportunity to meet you as I believe you would have realized that I truly care about my guests and their concerns. Donna Marie (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

Donna's is probably the BEST place to stay in the Berlin, Ohio area. The Cottages are a fantastic deal, especially with the Full Hot Breakfast (of your choice) delivered to your front door, at a time the guests request, each day. Who wants to get up, get dressed and go to breakfast at a nearby restaurant when you are on vacation ? ? ? (That is what many other places to stay at in the Berlin, Ohio area offer - breakfast included, BUT, at a local restaurant. The Kitchenette is wonderful, almost like staying at a Residence Inn by Marriott! Full dish service, silverware, cutting board and toaster are also included. The refrigerator and microwave are both wonderful for storing and heating leftovers - of which there are plenty of in Amish Country!! Also great for any purchases of those wonderful Amish Cheeses and Meats - sure beats keeping a cooler filled with ice in your room until you are ready to go home. The chilled Sparkling Grape Juice and Cookie Tray are also a nice touch, as well as the coffee, tea, hot chocolate and microwave popcorn supplies which are also included.

A front porch and back deck (with a grill) are included with the Cottages - very nice. We enjoyed sitting out at night and viewing the full moon and stars on our stay while sipping a glass of wine. We first stayed in May, 2007 and enjoyed our stay so much, we booked again for early Nov. 2007. While we were greeeted with early snowflakes on our November trip down to Amish Country, and it was a bit cool for early Nov. - we still enjoyed sitting outside on the porch and deck at night, since at home, we do not have a porch or deck!! The fireplace was great for our use during our November stay. There are also two TV's, one in the Living Room and one in the Bedroom, complete with Cable.

We found Donna's to be extremely clean, and the Staff was very helpful and efficient for any of our needs. They respect your privacy, and only come in to "tidy up" upon your personal request. The price for a stay was very economical, considering all the "extras" included with our stay. The Jacuzzi for Two was wonderful - they even include bath oils for the "experience".

We would highly recommend Donna's to anyone visiting the Berlin, Ohio area! Janice & Dennis

  • Liked — The Privacy
  • Disliked — Because I am Short, the King Bed was difficult to climb up into.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tripoCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

My husband stayed at one of Donna's villas last weekend for a much needed get-a-way. You can read other reviews for all of the amenities, but I will say, they think of EVERYTHING! There were enough electronic gadgets to impress my husband, and so much attention to detail in other areas that I just couldn't believe it. We have stayed in a lot of nice places, but nothing like this. As for value, you get what you pay for, and with Donna's you get more. We felt pampered from the moment we walked through the door. When we return to Amish country, we will be returning to Donna's. Our experience could not have been better from start to finish.

  • Liked — Understated luxury. Attentiion to detail.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was all wonderful!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailwithme56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

We stayed for our anniversary back in May of this year (long time off on review,sorry!) We have stayed at other b & b's in this same area and none are quite as nice as this!
We stayed in a chalet for just 1nt (quite pricey,but right in line with other similar properties.) The host staff were excellent and friendly.Lodging is right in/around dowtown;shops,antiques,Wendell August Forge and restaurants of Berlin.

Our room stay included a full hot country breakfast delivered to your door in the morning, was made to order, fill out what you want when you check in! So many options!

Our chalet was very tastefully decorated, with kitchenette;sink/minifridge and microwave with dining area. They include sparkling cider,fruit plate and Cookies (so very good!!) They also provide glasses a couple plates and some basic utensils. These chalets/cabins are designed for couples only so they have jacuzzi & Fireplace in bedroom/living/kitchenette(1st floor), beautiful patio with swing and a pool table on lower level with gas fireplace and sofa/sitting area.
Check out their website for the other types of rooms they offer; Cedar Log Cabins,honeymoon cottages and more! All the rooms look just like the pictures!

This place is great for anniversaries and honeymoons! We plan to go back and stay in the Cedar log cabin next time!

  • Liked — Romantic Atmosphere & free pool table
  • Disliked — Each Unit could offer more seclusion from one another
  • Tips/Secrets — travel Midweek prices or stayover on Sundays/Mondays for 2nd night discounted rate
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anonymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

Our stay in cottage #1 was nice, not exceptional. Our front door faced the street and the back looked onto another cottage deck. The decor was very feminine, not sure why B&B's always go overboard with the flowery furnishings.
The price was fairly high, but with the full breakfast that was deliivered to our door, it made the price easier to take.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love_those_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.2 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
3.7 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#4 of 4 in Millersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna's Premier Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna's Premier Lodging

Property: Donna's Premier Lodging
Address: East Street, PO Box 307, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Donna's Premier Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance is always in the air at Donna's Premier Lodging, where luxurious accommodations nestled in Berlin, Ohio, have set the gold standard for lodging. Stunning stone and wood fireplaces, bubbling two person Jacuzzis, beautifully landscaping grounds and wooded settings, and cascading waterfalls-both outdoors and indoors--provide the perfect setting for love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Donna's Premier Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna`s Premier Lodging Hotel Berlin
Donnas Premier Lodging
Donna's Premier Lodging Berlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing