We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was the only plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodging on the Square
Ranked #5 of 10 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Judging from the other reviews, we must have gotten the only nasty room in the hotel. Our room smelled terrible, the mattresses were very soft, bedding was worn, the roll away should be an embarrassment to them. I'm glad I had a blanket and pillow in the car because I wasn't going to use theirs. If I could have gotten my money back and changed hotels I would have done so but they charged the entire stay to my card on arrival and I had passed the cancellation time for our 2nd night by the time we checked in. They charged me $10 for a third person and then we had to ask for towels and they gave us one little shampoo and one soap. They have no breakfast and soda machine was empty. Staff wasn't rude, but not overly friendly. Don't even think about bringing a pet ... I was told no pets when I called, I had to initial that I had no pet on checking in and then there was a big sign on the door saying if they found evidence of a pet that we would be charged $150. I normally travel with my pets but wasn't on this trip so maybe I was a little sensitive to that, but it was excessive in my opinion. Location was excellent, but would not bring me back here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucyandSophiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZincksInn, Guest Services at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2015

Good Afternoon, we apologize for any inconveniences and disappointments that you experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your honesty, hearing the negatives help us make changes to make sure everyone has a comfortable, relaxing stay with us. Since you've stayed with us, we've made five of the Lodging on the Square rooms pet friendly. We also now include a complimentary hot breakfast when folks stay with us at our lodging on the square location. Honestly, it's a standard hotel policy to add an additional $10/ Night per additional people above two. It's for the additional amenities that the person may use while staying with us. The staff should have made sure your room had everything that a room with multiple guest would need. We will make sure our staff is aware to consider the number of guests when giving additional shampoos, towels and such. We have also done some upgrades on the inn since you've been here with us. Thank you again for your review and honesty. We would appreciate if you gave our hotel another chance but understand completely if you choose not to. Have a wonderful day and a fabulous new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

Located just across the street from Sol's shopping center in the heart of Berlin, and the prices are wonderful. Very clean rooms,the beds were very comfy, large bathroom area nice nice nice...the staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smile_u_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZincksInn, Social Media Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

Good Evening, thank you for the great review and wonderful rating, we hope you are having a wonderful year and get a chance to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel has a relaxing and comfortable environment. The staff is courteous and friendly. I stayed here alone and felt completely safe.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZincksInn, Social Media Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

Hello, thank you for the terrific recommendation and fantastic rating. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay and sharing those thoughts with the other folks here on tripadvisor. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The service was very friendly. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The best thing was being able to park, check-in, and shop til you drop without getting back in the car. Would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol8720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZincksInn, Social Media Manger at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

Thank you for the terrific recommendation and fabulous rating for our Lodging on the Square location, we really appreciate that you shared your review with the other folks on tripadvisor. Hope you're having a great year so far and we hope to see you soon here in Berlin, Ohio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My mom, 2 sisters and myself decided to go to the Amish country again for our 2nd annual girls weekend. I spoke with a rep from the hotel who assured me the carpets had been replaced.

We loved our stay this time around. The staff was extremely pleasant, the snacks were delicious, breakfast was excellent and the location is as convenient as you can get. It's a wonderful place to stay because you can literally walk and shop until you drop because your hotel room is right there just waiting for you to drop off your packages, put your feet up for a bit then hit the streets again whenever you're ready.

The four of us highly recommend Zincks Lodging on the Square!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tallen18708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZincksInn, Social Media Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

We appreciate you giving us another chance, we appreciate you updating your review and rating to reflect the updated carpeting. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much more this time around. Hope you are having a fantastic year, perhaps we'll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very Convenient to shop til you drop!!! Nice Music Friday night on the square.
Lobby full of fun people and yummy Amish Cookies in the evening.
Breakfast was more than expected....Belgian Waffles, homemade bread, and my little one loved the hard boiled egg that they serve in the early summer. Our room was spotless, no dust bunnies under the bed!!! Thank you Zinck's Lodging on the Square for a fantastic stay in the Heart of Amish Country. :+)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZincksInn, Jennifer- Guest Relations at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2015

Hello, thank you for sharing such a fabulous review and rating, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lodging on the Square. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We have come back to this Inn for several years now. It's clean and in the middle of town. We did however stay in one of the front rooms that face the highway. Although the area seems to close up at 5:00 p.m., the truck traffic is not stop all night long. This would be my only complaint. Get a room in the back away from the road. The breakfast is more than adequate and the nightly snacks as well. We love this place. ...and p.s. - bring your own hairdryer!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjjmaj909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZincksInn, Social Media Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

Thank you for such a great recommendation and rating we really appreciate hearing from you. We do have hair dryers at the front desk that you can request anytime. We wish you a wonderful year and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
0.4 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#4 of 5 in Berlin
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 5 in Berlin
897 reviews
4 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
335 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodging on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodging on the Square

Address: 4877 West Main St, PO Box 331, Berlin, OH 44610 (Formerly Zinck's Family of Inns)
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: $78 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lodging on the Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zinck’s Family of Inns invites you to enjoy our centrally located, comfortable and relaxing, Lodging on the Square location. Lodging on the Square allows guests to step out of their room doors and into the center of downtown Berlin’s downtown shopping district. Take a short walk to enjoy shopping at your favorite shops and businesses, or eating at your favorite downtown Berlin restaurant. Enjoy your fresh baked cookies at check-in and a wonderfully hot delicious complimentary breakfast every morning when staying at our Lodging on the Square location. Having designated pet friendly rooms, we welcome your furry best traveling buddy to stay with you while staying with us at our Lodging on the Square location. We hope to see you soon here at Lodging on the Square for a friendly, enjoyable stay here in downtown Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lodging on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zinck`s Lodging On The Square Hotel Berlin
Lodging On The Square Berlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing