We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading! It's a shared house with four sectioned areas.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coblentz Country Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Misleading! It's a shared house with four sectioned areas.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Went expecting "cabin" not a shared house w three other couples. Re-read whole ad, never once did it say that the rabbits nest is a shared house with fox den, owl perch and one other. If looking for seclusion GO ELSEWHERE!!! Toilets flushing, people running till 2 am!!! And bring small foreign car... Any thing bigger and you may not make it into your parking spot or fall off pavement while Turing around. It was a nice room if your looking for a hotel room feel w a cabinesque feel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    79
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
91
220
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the wild cherry treehouse and it was amazing! We are already checking our schedules to see when we can book again. We only stayed one night because it was the only time available and now I know why. The place is so super clean. Gas log fireplace and jacuzzi tub were awesome. Definitely recommend!!!! Loved the nearby Towns.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family spent Christmas this year in the Blue Jay's Nest. We really appreciated the Christmas tree I had asked about when I booked the cabin.
It is attached to another cabin, but thankfully no one else was staying the days we had.

There were no outside lights, which made it very difficult walking to and from your vehicle. Our youngest grandson fell pretty hard coming up onto the porch because of the lack of light.
The bedding had a sour smell to them, but since it was Christmas we just lived with it.
We did blow a fuse in the bathroom on Christmas day and I made a phone call to someone concerning this. By the time we came back that evening it had been fixed. The only lamp available had been broken before our arrival and glued back together, this just needs replaced.
The TV while watching a DVD had very little volume, and could not be adjusted at all. It would have been a great help to us had the cabin been equipped with a vacuum sweeper, especially after opening presents. The jacuzzi tub was great, along with the pool table. The fireplace was a nice added touch. Your policies on cleaning before you leave are very broad. what to clean, what not to clean without being charged extra... you need to be more specific on what is expected. All in all, we made our Christmas memories and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memawpawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I were so impressed! THe room was absolutely spotless! It felt so luxurious as well! There was complimentary popcorn, and hot chocolate in the room which was great since we aren't coffee drinkers (There was coffee too.) We really enjoyed having the DVD player in the room as well. The jacuzzi was amazing! We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Booking off season will get a MUCH better rate. (We payed $89 plus tax for the king suite which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TabithaCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

PROS: the reservation confirmation emails from the proprietor sounded nice, cheerful. But --

-- we booked it for a 3-day Christmas holiday treat and left after the first sleepless night. First - this is not a sole cabin - it IS log-constructed, but attached to another unit w/an adjoining door.

I wish there were more PROS to share. Well, it is indeed within walking distance of Berlin.

CONS: Township Road 359 is not a small side street, it is a two-lane double-yellow-line 35 or 45 mph road; Hawk’s Nest looks over and faces the road, and you will hear vehicles on the road, even in winter with the windows closed. The construction noise from the two cabins under construction on or next to their property, barking dogs and gas-powered blower - at 7 am on Christmas Eve morning - was anything but "peaceful." The fireplace switch didn’t work; we had to take the cover off and push the ignite button every 10-15 minutes as it kept going out.

There were a few burnt out light bulbs. There was only one end table lamp; not two. There was a thick coating of dust on the lamp fixtures and shades; there was a thick, greasy coating of dust on the shelf with the microwave. The blinds on the windows facing the road were plastic with faux wood-grain, ok, but the one on the right was stuck in the closed position. The windows didn’t appear to have been cleaned in the recent past several months at least; the bathroom window had mold growing on it. There is no curtain or blinds on the bathroom window, which was an issue when I got out of the dirty shower and the neighbor was walking from his back door across his deck close enough I could tell you what shirt he was wearing.

The Jacuzzi dripped all night; the blankets were thin and worn; the second blanket layer was a thin, cheap fleece type; the pillows were soft and flat as a pancake – with two of them stacked up, it wasn’t as thick as one good pillow. The electric outlet in the floor in the carpeting in the loft was broken and, leaving the metal box exposed; there is also an open space under the cook top; you need to keep your children away from this. My husband is a licensed electrician and found these to be a safety concern. Last, they need to have the carpets steam-cleaned.

There is more but I’m so disappointed in what was to be a special holiday in Berlin, I’ll end here.

We stay in vacation rentals all over the world, including Amish country. This is not a luxury cabin. This is a basic, budget cabin; not a well-maintained or cleaned, free-standing cabin. We did not contact the proprietor when we left early after our first of three nights because it was Christmas Eve and we were trying to salvage our holiday, not wait for all the above to be fixed.

Hopefully, the proprietor/s will resolve and remedy the above. The cabin could be great.

Room Tip: Before making a reservation, check to be sure your cabin is free-standing or connected to another on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank abovethetreeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place is Beautiful, the room had everything you could possibly want and we never saw another person the whole time we were there. The area also as a ton to see and do. My wife and I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a fabulous place. Beautiful views. The room was very clean, perfect from the fireplace to the jacuzzi to the big screen flat TV. We had a great time. The owner was out plowing and shoveling on our arrival. spoke to us and was pleasant. The breakfast voucher to a local Amish restaurant had excellent food on the buffet. This place made a wonderful getaway. will definitely book again and recommend to others. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank df8216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
0.8 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
0.9 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
4.5 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#4 of 4 in Millersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coblentz Country Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coblentz Country Cabins

Property: Coblentz Country Cabins
Address: 5130 Somerset Drive, Somerset Rd, Berlin, OH 44610
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for fantastic Berlin, Ohio lodging you have found it. Coblentz Country Cabins is less than 1/4 mile to the wonderful shops and restaurants in downtown Berlin. These romantic cabins provide lodging perfect for anniversaries, honeymoons, or romantic weekend getaways to Amish Country. These spacious units are also ideal for couples traveling together, families, or friends, with capacity for up to 8 guests in select units. This luxury lodging in Berlin, Ohio all feature our signature amenities including jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, flat screen TV’s with DVD, living rooms, kitchenettes, and comfy beds, along with the finest Amish craftsmanship. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coblentz Country Cabin Hotel Berlin
Coblentz Country Cabins Berlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing