We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay”

Wendell August Ohio Amish Country Store
Ranked #2 of 28 Shopping in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dalton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“It was okay”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The store is very nice and the craftsmanship IS very beautiful. There is a small self guided section in the back that shows how these crafts are made. However, it was kinda pricy for us (a young family) and we walked away empty handed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“one-of-a-kind personalized gifts”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Shop and enjoy choosing from a wide selection of custom products. Heirloom pieces are crafted in a variety of medals including aluminum, bronze, pewter, and sterling. A special place to find a special gift.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BettyF854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hand forged!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very unique. Hand forged items, with a workshop where you can watch the metal-smiths apply their craft. Bout a Silver Thanksgiving Platter for my wife for Christmas, VERY nice. And blown glass items, the worlds largets Amish buggy. Cool!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely store”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I purchased a beautiful tray that I can't wait to use for the holidays.

They have a nice area where children (or anyone) can hammer their own piece. They have pieces of aluminum, 4 different plates (flowers, bald eagle, lighthouse, and an amish farm scene), and you hammer the aluminum over the plate to form your design. It was $2. These turned out beautiful, and I have them hanging in our homes now.....a great souvenir of our trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nk79654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Fort Worth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Variety of Items for Gifts”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A free Gift? Yes it was! Not a Treasure but at least it was well worth the stop to shop and browse for something very different. If the free gift had not been offered, I would have never visited this this unique Business. Very enjoyable but i would suggest this as a "Quick" visit if you have small children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlackHawks1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wendell August Ohio Amish Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Wendell August Ohio Amish Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing