We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner With an Amish Family!”

Amish Heartland Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amish Heartland Tours offering tours since 1993 in Holmes County, Ohio - We are the "Original" Tour Company in Holmes County, Ohio. Most popular is the "Meal in an Amish Home." We offer Meals in Amish Homes, Amish Home and Farm Tours, and Receptive and Culture Guide Services for Motor Coach Bus Groups.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dinner With an Amish Family!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We surprised my teen daughter and her friend w/ a dinner with an Amish family, Bishop JC and Fannie Yoder. It turned out to be the high point of the girls' trip that included Nashville, Amish Country and a Youth Convention in Louisville. Go figure...
Wonderful meal that included the stereotypical fried chicken and the like--to was wonderful. The best was just sitting w/ them and talking about life and the world, much like we would do with any friends. I got to shoot bugs with their grandson and his toy plunger gun; this was in between his sitting down on the sofa right in the middle of the two teen girls.
This was a "private" meal with the Yoders that was arranged via the Tours folks and it is certainly a wonderful way for some English to get to know the Amish on a very different level.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vikngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington Court House, Ohio
Level Contributor
229 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ate an Amish supper at Bishop JC and Fannie Yoder's home. They were fantastic!!

The hospitality was way over the top and more than what we expected.

They were fabulous people. After supper we were there a couple more hours visiting while the grand children played on their swing set and the adults sat around and talked.

And my grandchildren loved Fannie, especially the one grandchild who sat on her lap after supper.

Amish Heartland Tours arranged this supper for us. It was our third such event in the past few years.

Mike and Bonnie Hall and families

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT TOUR COMPANY”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our second time booking a tour with A.H.T. First one was two years ago we took the Progressive Meal Tour and had Lavonne as our wonderful tour guide. What an awesome day. Well worth the money!!! This time we took the All About Amish Dinner tour. Unfortunately we didn't have enough in our group as it was just the two of us so we did not get the meal. Harriet was our tour guide and she was wonderful as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Passion for the Amish way of life”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As I passed through Berlin, Ohio, I stopped by Amish Heartland Tours to see what was happening in the area. Unfortunately, I did not have the time to take advantage of the tours that were available, I did have a few minutes to chat with La Vonne De Bois - the owner of the tour company.

It's clear that La Vonne has a passion for the Amish way of life and has put together some tours that give great, behind-the-scenes looks into this somewhat private religious sect. Based on some of the reviews I've read by those who did jump on Amish Heartland Tours - it seems to be an incredible value!

Mark Madere
North Ridgeville, OH

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing tour!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hi Marsha! Just wanted to write and tell you how much we appreciated Linda, our tour guide, today! We've taken many tours in our lives, and she was one of the best we've ever had the pleasure of spending time with. Linda is knowledgeable, professional, and a definite asset to Amish Heartland Tours! In addition, we also loved our dinner at Ada Mae and Eli's home... The whole experience was worth every penny, and we are very glad that we booked with your company! If we ever come back this way, rest assured we will enjoy your services again, and will recommend you to friends who might come your way. Again, thank you... It was a great experience from booking to the goodbye at the center. Sincerely, Hedy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amish Heartland Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing