We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good background on development of various Amish/Mennonite groups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amish and Mennonite Heritage Center

Amish and Mennonite Heritage Center
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good background on development of various Amish/Mennonite groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Center is in the round and depicts the history of the Amish/Mennonites from its beginnings through a cyclorama painting. Our guide also described the differences in the various beliefs of the various groups. The tour was very informative and gave me great background however I thought some of the depicted stories may have been a little bloody/gruesome for younger people.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rcubed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The cyclorama painting is fantastic. The Amish man who was our guide was great, He gave a very detailed and animated description of seeming most of the characters presented in the painting. He obviously had done it many times and enjoyed explaining the history behind the painting. The School and Barn are also great!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Behalt is a MUST-SEE Mural”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My daughter, granddaughter and I visited the Amish & Mennonite Heritage Center last month on a trip to "Amish Country" in eastern Ohio. We wanted to understand better what "Amish" and "Mennonite" is all about, and the Heritage Center fulfilled that wish beautifully!

The highlight of the day was the Behalt mural - a 265-foot historical "cyclorama" that illustrates the story of the Anabaptists (Amish, Mennonites & Hutterites). Heinz Gaugel, the artist, beautifully tells the history of the various Anabaptist groups (more information here: http://www.behalt.com/gaugel.html), and our tour guide was fantastic in explaining the entire mural. Even my 5-year-old granddaughter was entranced with the stories.

Following the mural experience, our tour guide took us to a refurbished one-room Mennonite schoolhouse, and an Amish-built barn that housed a genuine Conastoga wagon as well as an authentic modern-day Amish buggy. My granddaughter was thrilled to be able to sit in the buggy and have her picture taken.

The gift shop had a lot of lovely gifts, books, foods and more information.

We highly recommend visiting the Heritage Center FIRST when you go visit Ohio's Amish Country. You'll be glad you did!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Touch of History In Amish Country Ohio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We try to visit the Amish and Mennonite Heritage Center every time we come to Berlin. The Cyclorama and the History of the Martyrs is breathtaking. Everytime we come there is someone new and a little nugget of History that touches our lives.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abigail143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Place to Start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the first place to go as you visit this area. Not a tourist trap, this is the real deal, informative and with a good gift shop. Very nice people that you can visit with if they're not too busy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_n_Kathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amish and Mennonite Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Amish and Mennonite Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing