We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pleased.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlin Grande Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not pleased.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wifi didnt work good and not happy was supose to be a road view when we booked to stay here and we did not have. We chose your place for my daughters birthday and she brought a friend. My husband asked if they had a room on the next floor so we could see what we asked for when booked and she said had no other rooms so make sure you get what you ask for when booking room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwald440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good Morning, we're very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try very hard to accomodate our guest's requests, but sometimes there are circumstances that we can not work around, in this case we were sold out and unfortunately couldn't move you to a room that better suited your request. For this reason, we can not promise guests a certain room, or a certain view, but only take it under advisement and do our best to make it happen for them. We sincerely hope you change your minds and give us another chance, we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back to Ohio's Beautiful Amish Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    341
    77
    25
    13
See reviews for
753
898
33
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were so pleased with every aspect of our stay at the Berlin Grande Hotel. it was truly delightful! The check-in staff was friendly, the hotel was sleek and beautiful...very CLEAN! The interior is very modern. A beautiful staircase takSS you up to the second floor where there is a lounge area, game area, and work area with pc. There is also a laundry room available for customer use. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that looked lovely although we did not use it.

We LOVED our room...a king suite with sitting area and efficiency kitchen. What a delight to find Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea in the room. The bathroom was large and modern too and they offer BeeKind toiletries which we really enjoyed and we even bought some in the shop. The breakfast was plentiful and offered a variety of choices. The grounds are beautifully landscaped as well. I was sure the hotel must be brand new, but it has been there three years already. They are keeping it like new and we just loved our stay. I don't say this about everywhere, trust me. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Good Evening and thank you so much for taking the time to give such an extensive review of our hotel. It's a pleasure to hear from guests and their experience. It pushes us to exceed any expectations a guest may have upon arrival. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had such a great experience at this hotel. It was very clean and modern and decorated very nicely. The room was a good size, and I loved the breakfast bar in the kitchen area. The complimentary breakfast each day was great with a large amount of choices. I can't say enough about the outstanding staff, including the cleaning staff and ladies in the breakfast area. I have never had such good service from a front desk staff. They were all so friendly and gave us wonderful suggestions for where to eat and shop. The location was perfect, and the countryside was beautiful. This was our first visit to this area, and we would not think of staying anywhere else. Oh, and don't miss the cookies at the front desk. Yummy!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltesemama8_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments and praise for the staff. Your review is now posted on our buliten here at the hotel, (Made our day). We love to hear what we are doing right and of course what we can improve on. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, Wv
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I can't find anything to complain about. The hotel is clean and modern. The staff was the friendliest I have ever seen. We simply walked to the shops and never needed to drive. The room was great. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johsitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Wow, I love your positive comments. Thank you for the rave review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This newer hotel is convenient for shopping and eating in the Amish villages close by the hotel.
I found the front desk gals were so helpful in finding me a room as I arrived earlier than the check in time. Spoke with Karen the manager several times during my two day stay and also watch her and the other gals interacting with other guests. They do a fine job. I would certainly stay here on my next trip (soon) to this area of Ohio. The room was very clean and comfortable. You certainly did not feel cramped into a small hotel room. Lots of space and the kitchen bar/snack area was so very nice and useful with the refrig and coffee available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Good Afternoon, Thank you for the wonderful review. We enjoy our guests and the interaction we have with everyone. Guests like you make our days brighter. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I take a weekend in the Amish Country every spring and this is my first time at BGH. I actually ran into Vanilla Ice who was shooting a T V show Berlin and was staying at this hotel. The rooms are done in a modern decor, no country style decor here. Location is right in Berlin so you could walk to most places in town. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidpromises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Good Afternoon, Thank you for the kind mention and the wonderful review. All of us here at the Berlin Grande enjoy meeting new guests and reconnecting with returning friends. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The motel was very clean and staff was exceptional. The breakfast in the morning was more than we expected. Our room was very comfortable and very clean. When we return to Berlin we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the exceptional review of our hotel. We appreciate you sharing it with the everyone online here at TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ohio's Amish Country...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.4 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
243 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
280 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 10 in Berlin
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Grande Hotel

Property: Berlin Grande Hotel
Address: 4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berlin Grande Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Grande Hotel is the newest hotel in Berlin,in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. Our 78 room hotel features large spacious rooms, indoor heated saltwater pool, meeting facilities, a business center, 24 hr fitness room, free internet and long distance to our guests, a friendly supportive staff and spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Berlin Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Grande Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing