We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlin Grande Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Plain City , Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel...”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just back from a 2-night stay at the Berlin Grande Hotel. First let me say this is the absolute cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. Amazing staff..... very friendly & professional. Fantastic location to all the shops, restaurants, & events in downtown Berlin. We were able to walk to enjoy Friday night's Christmas Parade. When you arrive there are fresh baked cookies, coffee, tea, hot chocolate & orange ice water. What a nice treat! Our room was spacious with a sliding door and beautiful decor & pet friendly!! :) There was a microwave, sink, small refrigerator, coffee maker & counter space. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of towels & complimentary shampoo, conditions etc... We didn't use it, but there was a beautiful swimming pool & hot tub available. Breakfast was way more then expected. Fresh omelets, sausage, hashbrowns, bagels, toast, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich's, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, waffle's, and on and on.... fruit juices & excellent coffee! There is also a washer/dryer guests can use. Beautiful lobby with fireplace to sit and relax with flatscreen T.V.s... I honestly can't think of one negative about this hotel. Did I say how CLEAN it is..... I applaud the staff for their excellent work ethic & care of this hotel. Our housekeeper was amazing also. We will certainly be returning as we visit Berlin often. THANK YOU to the owners & staff of Berlin Grande for such a wonderful, much needed weekend get-a-way for me & my husband! And..... we appreciate so much that your hotel is PET FRIENDLY.... :)

Room Tip: We found the lower level rooms perfect for traveling with our dog. Great pet walking just a short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Season's Greetings to you, thank you for your Fantastic Review of our hotel. We're incredibly proud of everyone of our staff and the great job they do. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town. Have a fabulous Holiday Season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    354
    80
    26
    13
See reviews for
788
919
34
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My sister and I recenty planned a trip to Berlin to shop during the Christmas Open House weekend. We chose the Berlin Grande because my husband and I had stayed there previously and it was perfect. The downtown location is centrally located so that you can park your car and walk everywhere and visit the many shops. There is also a restaurant within walking distance. The rooms were large and extremely clean with frig, microwave and sink in rooms. The service was top notch from the staff at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. There is a complimentary breakfast included, which is a big plus! I also appreciated not having to check out until noon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi Connie, sounds like you had a great weekend of shopping with your girlfriends!! We love that you chose us as your lodging place. thank you for your continued patronage and sharing such a fabulous review with our friends here on TripAdvisor. Have a blessed Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Downtown is the perfect location for this excellent hotel. Close to the business district with shops, and eating places all within walking distance of your hotel. The rooms were excellent and large with frig, micro wave and sink in rooms. The service was top notch. Central location to be able to get to Charm and Walnut Creek and Lehman's Hardware all top location in Amish Country.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good Afternoon, thank you for sharing this great review of our hotel, we appreciate it. Have a Happy Holiday Season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Current, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms are huge and the beds extremely comfortable. The owners have spared no expense on quality furnishings and comfort. Would recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitoulinTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello, we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our mattresses are locally made by Country Furniture. Their contact number is 330/893/4455. Thank you for the kind review and have a Blessed Holiday Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a very clean hotel with a friendly staff. We travelled off season and not over a weekend, so all the noise menioned by some other reviewers wasn't an issue. Overall, it was a quiet stay.
We were travelling with our toddler, so I was thrilled to find a hotel with a separate bedroom with two queen beds. The kitchen area had everything you could need, there was a small dining table we could eat around, and plenty of open space for the toddler to play. The bedroom was tight, but extremely comfortable - the beds are wonderful!
We appreciated the recycling offered and that the toiletries offered were eco-friendly!
The saltwater pool was a huge bonus and very pleasant surprise. It was a little cool, but a quick dip in the hot tub, then back to the pool, and it felt great.
The waffles you could make yourself at the breakfast buffet were a nice addition t a mainly continental-type spread. The only thing I missed at breakfast was regular yogurt... they only had the kind with artificial sweetener.
Overall, very nice, very friendly, very comfortable, and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Good Morning, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for sharing such a great review with all of our friends here on TripAdvisor, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

the king fireplace suite is huge! actually to big, sofa very far from TV, electric fireplace hangs on the wall below flat screen tv. I think it looks tacky, no soft lighting in bedroom for reading, only
very bright box light above bed. The bathroom is very big, but could have put in 2 sinks in such
long vanity. I don't think the extra room and fireplace are worth the extra bucks. If we returned we would try a king suite without the fireplace and save about $90.

Room Tip: the king suite with fireplace in not the worth the extra bucks, fireplace is like watching a fire on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxmanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. A lot of the things you mentioned have to do with the building itself, but we will certainly take your suggestion of a lamp for reading in the bedrooms into consideration.Upon return we suggest trying the King Suite or the King Courtyard room. You can see pictures of all of our room types on our website, they all include a kitchenette with a sm sink, microwave, coffee maker and refridgerator, as well as our breakfast. Thanks again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,182 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place surprised me. It was new and modern but with a very friendly staff. The rooms are large and well appointed with a miceowave, refrigerator, coffee pot and wet bar. The beds are very comforrtable and there is a continental breakfast that includes waffles in the morning. Also this place is very centrally located for your visit to the Amish area. Berlin is a special town to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi, what a pleasure to hear from you. I can't say enough about our staff. It's amazing what a friendly greeting can do for a person. Thank you for your time in giving us such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.4 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
249 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
282 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 11 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Grande Hotel

Property: Berlin Grande Hotel
Address: 4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berlin Grande Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Grande Hotel is the newest hotel in Berlin,in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. Our 78 room hotel features large spacious rooms, indoor heated saltwater pool, meeting facilities, a business center, 24 hr fitness room, free internet and long distance to our guests, a friendly supportive staff and spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Berlin Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Grande Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing