We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel i've stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berlin Grande Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just got back from BGH and had a wonderful stay. My family of 4 drove up to amish country for the one night, to just get away and enjoy some beautiful fall scenery. I didn't realize when we embarked on our journey my favorite part of the trip was going to be the BGH. Staff was very friendly, room was so comfortable (2 queen family suite). I love area of the amish country but am not a true fan of country decor that you find at many of the other inns and lodges. This place is so modern you feel like you're in a top notch urban hotel until you look out the window and see the rolling hills and farms. The pool and hot tub is inviting and beautiful and the breakfast was good too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Good morning and thank you for your great comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, decor and the surrounding countryside. Thank you again for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,201 - 2,207 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Grande last weekend, and I must say that it was a great place. The staff was extremely friendly, the room was clean, and the location is top notch! It is right in the middle of Berlin, so you are within walking distance to most of the shops. The live theaters are in Walnut Creek and Sugarcreek, so we had to drive to those, but it was worth the trip! Especially the Amish Theater in Walnut Creek. Thanks Berlin Grande for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello, you're very welcome. Our staff truly goes above and beyond expectations. Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your positive experences with other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Berlin Grande in February and it exceeded our expectations in every area. We travel often and frequently debate on which hotel we've stayed at that has been the best. This one wins in every area. The rooms are beautiful, new and clean. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are amazing - we love the high ceilings! The toiletries are organic and smell wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The room was very quiet even though the hotel was full. I can't say enough good about the Berlin Grande! We plan to return here whenever we visit the Amish area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hi, we feel blessed that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your recommendation of the Berlin Grande Hotel with everyone on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you to Ohio's Amish Country in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

wonderful 2 night stay; staff was very friendly and accommodating/attentive; room was beautiful- one of the cleanest, most attactive, spacious rooms we have stayed at in a number of years. Amenities such as refrigerator, microwave and granite countertops made this "not your average hotel room". The bed was extremely comfortable; making it hard to want to rise in the morning, but then again, the delicious complimentary breakfast did await us.
The balcony was a welcome and pleasant site overlooking the countyside. Would not hestitate to stay here again (hopefully for a longer period of time!) and enjoy the shops in town within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellend40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello, thank you for posting this wonderful review of our hotel, we appreciate reading what all of our guests think of our hotel and that you've shared your experiences with the folks on TripAdvisor... We can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel and Ohio's beautiful Amish Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel. It's has all the ammenities of a high end hotel for a great price. We like the contemporary design and looks to be a fairly new property. We had a king room and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has glass shower doors instead of the usual shower curtain. We didn't use the fridge, microwave or coffee maker but having them available for a longer stay would be nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we felt welcomed as soon as we arrived. The breakfast area was large and we enjoyed the Jimmy Dean sandwiches along with the usual breakfast choices. It is conveniently located to town within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for posting this great review for our hotel on TripAdvisor and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy you felt welcomed as soon as you walked in our front doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I HIGHLY recommend staying at the BGH! The rooms are cozy, super clean, spacious and affordable! Perfect for the romantic get away or a family stay. I promise you will be impressed!

The beds are extremely comfortable (definitely not your average hotel utility mattress) and the pillows are like sleeping on a cloud (You can even buy a pillow to take home from the front desk!) The room has a granite L-shaped kitchenette counter with bar sink, dorm-size fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. The sitting area has a comfortable club chair and ottoman, a generous sized flat screen tv and there's also a balcony with 2 chairs for a bit of fresh air. And did I mention how s p a c i o u s the rooms are?! A family of 4 in a double queen room, no problem!

The front desk staff was always cheerful and friendly. The lobby always had fresh Wallhouse coffee (an excellent local roast from Sugar Creek, OH), ice cold lemon water, a bowl of fruit and fresh baked cookies.

The complimentary continental breakfast offers more choices than I have on any given day in my own kitchen. Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, belgian waffles, bagels, cinnamon rolls, muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, cereal, fresh fruit (not just apples & oranges!), juice, milk, coffee.

Some people have complained about noise in past reviews. We didn't experience any problems during our 2 nights. Occasionally I heard a door close down the hall. I would expect that in any hotel. It was infrequent and not disruptive in any way. It was actually the quietest hotel I've stayed in.

Another reviewer posted a complaint about the window above the ac unit only having sheers and the sun coming through in the morning. Initially I thought the curtains didn't close either, but on closer inspection there are blackout curtains tucked away behind the sheers with a wand. Pull the wand and voila...darkness. Sleep as late as you want in your cozy bed!

My one and only suggestion would have been to include a roll of paper towel in the kitchenette. I wanted to wash my travel coffee mug out but didn't want to use a bathroom washcloth. How trivial is that. It wouldn't be necessary but if I HAD to suggest an improvement, that would be it.

Seriously. Stay HERE. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hello, thank you for sharing such a fabulous review of our hotel , we appreciate you taking the the time to post it for us. We always enjoy getting feedback on our hotel from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visited this hotel for our anniversary and stayed one night. From the check in to the check out this was one great hotel! We booked through Expedia and had no issues, was checked in a few minutes. We walked up the beautiful staircase to our room and enjoyed! The room was very large with a nice bar and stools to enjoy your morning coffee or snacks. We also had a nice balcony with a view out to the front of the property. The bathroom was very large with a really nice glass shower enclosure. We went to dinner and shopped and came back to the room to enjoy some local wine and cheese. There was always fresh, delicious coffee in the lobby along with Seattle's Best coffee in the room. We had breakfast in the morning at the buffet, and how nice it was! We enjoyed fresh fruits, muffins, cakes, yogurt and Bob Evans breakfast sandwiches. They also had waffles but we couldn't eat anymore! There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel other than the curtains above the air conditioner were only sheers, and that's the window that looks towards the bed, so be prepared for the morning sun!;-) We will definitely stay here again, was close to the downtown shopping and an all around great deal!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinMexico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We have black out curtains behind the sheers on all the windows, however once in a while they get pushed back where they are not noticed by our guests. Thank you again for sharing this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.4 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#4 of 5 in Berlin
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 5 in Berlin
263 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#3 of 5 in Berlin
287 reviews
15.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Grande Hotel

Address: 4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $108 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berlin Grande Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Grande Hotel is the newest hotel in Berlin,in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. Our 102 room hotel features large spacious rooms, indoor heated saltwater pool, meeting facilities, a business center, 24 hr fitness room, free internet and long distance to our guests, a friendly supportive staff and spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Berlin Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Grande Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing